Chocolate Chip Graham Cracker Cookies

Chocolate chip graham cookies lbbakes

Chocolate chip cookies.  The world could use another recipe for those, right? ;)

I think I have enough chocolate chip cookie recipes of my own to satisfy the masses (look here for proof), but that has never stopped me from continuing to experiment with the classic cookie.

When I was in New York over the summer, I made these cookies to bring to a party and I don’t think anyone had a clue about the secret ingredient in them… graham cracker!

Chocolate chip graham cookies 2

The interesting thing about the graham cracker crumbs in these cookies is that even though you can’t necessarily put your finger on what exactly is different, they definitely taste different (in a good way).  They’re a bit sweeter, a bit nuttier, and a bit chewier.  All good things, in my opinion. :)

With Labor Day weekend almost behind us, I know summer is “officially” over, but if you’re still embracing summer like I am (I really have no choice in this Florida heat), bake these cookies and sandwich a toasted marshmallow between two for a cookie s’more.  I’m really regretting not doing that myself.  Eat one for me!

Chocolate chip graham cracker cookies

[print_this]Chocolate Chip Graham Cracker Cookies

Traditional chocolate chip cookies with graham cracker crumbs for a chewy twist on the classic cookie. 

Makes about 3 dozen cookies

Prep time: 15 minutes

Cook time: 12-15 minutes

  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, chilled
  • 1 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup graham cracker crumbs
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

Heat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Line cookie sheets with parchment paper.

In a large mixing bowl, beat the butter and sugars with an electric mixer until creamy.  Add the eggs; mix until blended.

In a separate bowl, mix the remaining ingredients.  Gradually add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients, mixing until combined.

Drop the cookie dough by rounded tablespoon onto the prepared cookie sheets.  Bake 12 to 15 minutes, or until the edges are golden brown.  Allow the cookies to cool 2-3 minutes on the cookie sheets before removing to cool completely.  Store the cookies in an airtight container, or freeze extra cookies.[/print_this]

5 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Graham Cracker Cookies”

    1. Mmm, s’mores bars sound great. You could try adding mini marshmallows to these, although they will probably not be the sightliest cookies ever (when marshmallows bake, they tend to explore a bit :) ).

    1. My mom had a box of graham cracker crumbs stashed in her kitchen that I knew she wasn’t going to use, so I figured I should give them some attention. :) I love the texture/depth of flavor they add!

Leave a Reply

