Pretzel Rolls

Soft pretzel rolls lbbakes

It’s football season!  And you know what that means… good food!  I’m pretty sure I definitely fall into that category of folks who love football not for the actual game itself but for the tailgate/social setting that comes with it.  Who’s with me? :)

I made these pretzel rolls last month when I was still in New York on vacation, but I should probably make them again as soon as possible because they’d be *perfect* for tailgating.

Soft pretzel rolls little bitty bakes

Anyone who knows me well knows I have an affinity to anything and everything pretzel, and pretzel rolls are no exception.  I love the pretzel rolls from Wegmans, and Trader Joes makes a pretty good one too!  It was only a matter of time before I attempted to make my own. :)

To make the pretzel rolls, I simply adapted my recipe for soft pretzels.  And even though I know working with yeast can be intimidating, I promise these rolls are totally worth it.  Just look at how fluffy they are!

Soft pretzel roll

You can make the rolls small and serve them as dinner rolls with chili or soup (like we did when I made these), or make them slightly larger and use them for burgers or sandwiches. Either way, they are delicious!

Soft pretzel rolls

[print_this]Pretzel Rolls

Soft, fluffy pretzel rolls made from scratch.  Make the rolls “dinner roll” sized as a side, or make larger rolls for sandwiches.  

Makes 12 to 16 rolls

Prep time: 30 minutes

Cook time: 15 minutes

  • 2 teaspoons instant yeast
  • 1 1/2 cups lukewarm water
  • 4 1/3 cups all-purpose flour (regular or white whole wheat)
  • 1 3/4 teaspoons salt
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

For dipping:

  • 8 tsp. baking soda
  • 2 cups warm water
  • 1 egg white
  • Coarse sea salt, for sprinkling

In a small bowl, stir the yeast into the lukewarm water; allow to dissolve about 1 minute.

In the bowl of a stand mixer, combine the flour, salt, and sugar.  Pour the yeast mixture into the bowl, along with the oil.  Use the paddle attachment and mix on low speed for 30-60 seconds (or use a handheld electric mixer).  Switch the mixer to the dough hook and mix on lowest speed (or continue mixing by hand) 3 to 4 minutes, until dough is smooth.   Adjust the water/flour content as needed to form a smooth, firm, but slightly tacky ball of dough.

Knead dough by hand about 1 minute.  Form into ball and place in lightly oiled bowl.  Cover the bowl with a damp cloth and allow to rise about 1 hour.

Heat the oven to 400 degrees F.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Combine the baking soda, water, and egg white in a shallow dish.

Depending on desired roll size, divide into 12 to 16 rolls (you may need to roll the dough into balls).  Dunk the rolls in the baking soda mixture, then set on the prepared baking sheet.  Sprinkle with coarse sea salt.  Bake at 400 degrees about 15 minutes or until deep brown.[/print_this]

5 thoughts on “Pretzel Rolls”

  1. LOVE soft pretzels! Duh, should’ve thought to have put them in a roll, because we go through them so quickly as snacks! I’ve been wanting to try a roll for sandwiches, etc., and when I was reading through your recent posts, this one caught my eye. Thank you for the recipe, Liz! I hope I can try it because it looks like you nailed the texture and flavor!

Leave a Reply

