Apple Walnut Granola

DSC_0826

How is it October already?!  I am super behind on posting recipes lately, but that doesn’t mean I haven’t been enjoying the best flavors fall has to offer!

Truth be told, it feels more like August right now in Florida than October, but my brain is programmed to want all things spiced this time of year.  And all things apple (that’s probably the New Yorker in me).  A few weeks ago, I made this apple walnut granola, and I’m pretty sure it’s one of my favorite granolas yet!

DSC_0821

Like most granola recipes, this recipe is very simple.  If you don’t have quinoa, don’t fret — it just adds a little extra crunch to the granola, but it isn’t necessary.

When I made my granola, I stirred the dried apples into the granola before baking, but a friend of mine (hi Wendy!) made the recipe after I made it and said her apples burned.  Long story short, I’m recommending you stir the dried apples in about half way through baking. :)

The granola is perfect with yogurt, added to cereal, or as a snack on its own!

DSC_0824

[print_this]Apple Walnut Granola

Makes about 3 cups

Prep time: 10 minutes

Cook time: 30 minutes

  • 2 cups rolled oats (old-fashioned, not quick oats)
  • 2 tablespoons uncooked quinoa (optional, just makes it crunchier)
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup chopped walnuts
  • 3 tablespoons coconut oil (or canola oil)
  • 2 tablespoons pure maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup chopped dried apples or apple chips

Heat the oven to 325 degrees F.

Mix the oats, quinoa, and walnuts in a mixing bowl.

Combine the coconut oil and maple syrup.  Pour into the oat mixture, stirring to coat evenly.

Spread into a baking pan (line it with foil for easy clean up). Bake 15 minutes; remove from oven and stir in the chopped dried apples.  Bake an additional 15 minutes, until the granola is lightly toasted.  Allow the granola to cool before storing.[/print_this]

4 thoughts on “Apple Walnut Granola”

  1. Thanks for the shout out! And I agree… This granola was delicious! I gave it as a birthday gift and my father in law requested that is be his Xmas gift as well!!

    1. You’re welcome Wendy :) I’m glad he enjoyed it! I’m going to have to start sending you recipes to try more often :)

  2. This looks wonderful, I can’t wait to try it! It looks to contain less sugar than any other recipes I have found – a lot of granolas out there I just find way too sweet!!

Leave a Reply

