Pizza Cake

The past few weeks have been pretty busy at work so I am falling a bit behind here! I’ve still found time to bake each week, but I can’t yet post the things I’ve been making. I’m experimenting for the Betty Crocker cookie mix contest, and while I realize no one is really reading these posts, I’m just not ready to send my creations out into cyberspace. In the meantime, there’s this…

I made this back in October for my friend’s birthday. She is a pizza lover to say the very least! So I thought it’d be neat to make her a cake that looked like a pizza. I’d be lying if I tried to tell you the exact measurements for this (I should note, it’s a new year’s resolution of mine to start recording measurements when I make things). Anyway, here’s the basic idea: a cake mix, some oil and eggs. After baking and creating a nice little well for fillings, spread center with strawberry jam (this is the pizza sauce). Shred an entire 4-oz Ghiradelli white chocolate baking bar, and sprinkle it over the jam (this is the cheese). You can get as creative as you want with your pizza toppings. I went with pepperoni here, and used fruit leathers to cut small circles. That’s it – easy as pizza pie! I was lucky enough to be able to snatch a nice little pizza box from a local pizza place, which I think made the pizza cake even more fun.

2 thoughts on “Pizza Cake”

Leave a Reply

