Marathoner’s Summer Pasta (yep… not dessert!)

There I went again, neglecting this blog for days! Alright, there must be something I can share with you.

Mm I know! I made this pasta dish last week for a contest I’m entering some recipes in. This stuff is amazing – I don’t think the camera does it justice. See, being the dessert-fanatic that I am, if you slip a few sweet things into something and call it ‘dinner,’ you’ve won me over. So that’s just what I did here. But then I added a bunch of other things too! I had no choice but to call it ‘Marathoner’s Summer Pasta’ — I think I may be able to live on this when I’m training for my marathon this summer. Yeah, I’m doing a marathon (yikes!)…

Anyway… here’s what you need and how to do it! I think I’ll have to follow this up with some sort of marathoner’s dessert in the near future šŸ™‚

  • 1 pinch of Salt
  • 2 cup(s) of dry whole-wheat penne pasta
  • 4 slices turkey bacon
  • 2 ounce(s) of Philadelphia Reduced Fat Cream Cheese
  • 1/4 cup(s) of lemon yogurt
  • 1 tbsp. of fresh-squeezed lemon juice
  • 1/2 tsp. of white balsamic vinegar
  • 1/4 tsp. of curry powder
  • 1 1/2 tbsp. of chopped chives
  • 1/4 cup(s) of chopped walnuts
  • 1/3 cup(s) of cucumber, diced
  • 1 nectarine, diced (leave skin on)
  • 1/2 cup(s) of seedless grapes, halved
  1. Bring a medium pot of water to a boil over high heat. Add a pinch of salt to the water, then add pasta. Cook pasta over medium heat, stirring occasionally, until pasta is al dente. Using a strainer, drain the pasta and set aside.
  2. Meanwhile, place turkey bacon on microwaveable plate lined with paper towels. Cover with additional paper towels. Microwave bacon on high for 2 minutes, or until bacon is cooked to desired crispiness. Set bacon aside.
  3. In large bowl, combine cream cheese, yogurt, lemon juice, and vinegar. Stir until smooth.
  4. Add in curry powder, chives, and walnuts.
  5. With a sharp knife, chop turkey bacon into 1/4 pieces. Add to bowl.
  6. Add diced cucumber, diced nectarine, and halved grapes to the bowl. Mix until combined.
  7. Add pasta to bowl and stir until mixed.
  8. Serve pasta at room temperature or chilled.
Leave a Reply

