Happy Spring Cake!

I think I’ve mentioned before that I’ve started getting into cake decorating. My theory is, when I open my bakery someday, as many delicious cookies and assorted goods as I may be able to offer, it will be good to be able to decorate cakes, too.


So after 2 months of practice, I’m getting the hang of it! I just wrapped up my second class, where we learned how to make all sorts of flowers with royal icing. The neat thing about these flowers is that they harden and you can store them for months. So say you randomly need to make a quick cake – you can pop some of these on top and it looks like you spent a lot of time on your cake 🙂


Anyway, this was the cake I made last week. I had a horror-like experience with it, as top layer decided to break into pieces as I began to ice the cake. Good thing I had a whole lot of buttercream icing to put it back together!


Leave a Reply

