Lemon White Chocolate Rice Krispie Treats

A few weeks ago, I wanted to make lemon cookies.  You know, ones like these.  They seemed like a nice and light, early summer cookie to make.  Except for when it’s 90 degrees outside.  Then no cookie seems like a good cookie to make, because it of course will require turning on the oven.  So what is a girl to do?  Convert rice krispie treats into a lemon cookie inspired treat, of course!
 
These are so easy to make, and best of all, they’re great for those hot summer evenings when you feel like ‘baking’ without actually baking.  Know what I mean? 

 

All you need are the ingredients pictured below, plus butter of course. 🙂  I didn’t end up using them, but you might notice the dried mixed berries in the picture.  I recommend sprinkling these on top of the white chocolate.  I should have done this.  But I forgot, and by the time I remembered the chocolate was dry.  Oops!
Since I clearly didn’t need to consume all of these myself, I packaged them up and sent them off to a friend for her birthday.  I also sent some to my brother, because he’s a great taste tester.  
Lemon White Chocolate Rice Krispie Treats
6 cups rice krispies cereal
1 (10 oz) package marshmallows
3 tbsp. butter
1 lemon (juiced and zested separately)
1 package white chocolate chips
Sprinkles and dried mixed berries, for decorating
1.  Grease a 13 x 9 inch pan with nonstick cooking spray.
2.  In a large microwaveable bowl, combine marshmallows and butter.  Microwave on high, stirring frequently, until marshmallows melt.  Stir in lemon juice.  Pour cereal into marshmallow mixture, tossing to coat.  Spread into pan.
3.  In medium microwaveable bowl, microwave white chocolate chips on high about 1 minute, stirring frequently, until melted.  Quickly stir in lemon zest.  Spread melted white chocolate over rice krispie treats.  Immediately top with decorating sugar and dried mixed berries.  Cool completely before cutting.  

*Note:  I used a 2-inch biscuit cutter to cut mine, just make them look a little more cute.  But I assure they taste the same no matter how you cut them. 🙂
Leave a Reply

