A Trip Down Memory Lane: Whoopie Pies!

I am so excited to share this one with you!  When I was younger, we’d go down to the local farmers market every Thursday night.  Most trips, we’d get an assortment of tasty treats from a group of Amish bakers — cinnamon raisin bread, cinnamon rolls, and whoopie pies.  Two giant cake-like cookies filled with a mound of fluffy frosting. Mmm.  This was always one of those things I thought you could only get from real bakers.  Not something that I myself was capable of.  Until now. 🙂
While I realize I could easily make these cookies with my new favorite cookie scoops, I just couldn’t pass up this pan.  Yep, a whoopie pie pan.  A pan dedicated to making whoopie pies.  Genius!  I ordered mine from Sur La Table and it only set me back $12.95.  I was so excited when it arrived in the mail.  Normal people do not get excited when whoopie pie pans come in the mail.  But Little Bitty does. 
All you have to do once your batter is prepared is spread it into your whoopie pie pan and pop them in the oven!  If you’re familiar with Picky Palate, you know this is sort of similar to her genius idea to use muffin top pans for giant cookies and the like. 🙂

My mom requested that I keep things traditional for my first go-around with whoopie pies, so I made traditional chocolate cookies with white cream filling (above).  But, as you can see from the first photo I shared, I also tried a peanut butter cream filling as well.  Both are really good.  My own sister, who is quite the health fanatic, couldn’t get over how great the white cream filling was.  Enjoy!


Question: What sweet treats from your younger years give you that nostalgic feeling when you eat them now? 
Whoopie Pies
For the Cookies:
1/2 cup butter, softened
1 cup brown sugar
1 egg
1 1/2 tsp vanilla
2 cups all-purpose flour
1/3 cup cocoa powder
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup buttermilk
1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Lightly spray whoopie pie pan (or cookie sheets) with nonstick cooking spray.
2.  In large bowl, beat butter and sugar until creamy.  Add egg and vanilla and beat until smooth.
3.  In separate bowl, combine flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  Add flour mixture into butter mixture, alternating flour mixture and buttermilk.  Beat on low speed until just combined.  
4.  Spread about 2 tbsp. of batter into each whoopie pie cup.  Alternatively, drop batter by 2 tbsp.-full onto cookie sheet, and spread to about 3 inch diameter.  Bake about 8 to 10 minutes, until cake springs back when pressed. Cool completely before filling. 
White Cream Filling:
6 tbsp butter, softened
1 1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar
1/8 tsp salt
7 oz marshmallow creme (Fluff!)
1 tsp vanilla
Spread filling between two cooled cookies.  Repeat. Enhale!  I mean, refrigerate until serving. 🙂
Alternatives for filling:  
Peanut butter – use 3 tbsp. butter and 3 tbsp. peanut butter
Cherry – replace vanilla with 1 tsp almond extract, and add a few drops of red food coloring.  
Mint – replace vanilla with 1 tsp peppermint extract.  
I will be sharing alternative versions of whoopie pies in the months to come, that’s for sure!
3 thoughts on “A Trip Down Memory Lane: Whoopie Pies!”

Leave a Reply

