Chocolate Raspberry Cookies

There are so many things I love about summer.  Sunshine.  No snow.  The ability to run outside and actually break a sweat doing so.  Sitting outside into the evening (minus those darn mosquitoes!).  Where is this going?
Ah, yes.  These cookies would not have been possible without the help of some fresh summer raspberries.  Yum!  I sometimes feel as if there is a magnetic attraction between me and berries when I walk through the grocery store in the summer.  I just can’t walk through the produce section without snatching some blueberries, strawberries, raspberries, or blackberries.  Last week, I grabbed one of each!  Though I did my best to eat them all, I found myself with a bunch of raspberries toward the end of the week.  What is a girl to do?  Put them into cookie dough, of course!
I was making a batch of cookies to bring to a summer work party, and I had originally planned to do a chocolate cookie with m & m’s.  But once I had the cookie dough mixed up, I got the sudden urge to give my dough a burst of freshness.  Enter: raspberries!  I poured in a bunch of these little guys and turned my stand mixer on low, allowing the berries to burst just slightly. 🙂
I then used my new whoopie pie pan to get these guys into the oven.  Why a whoopie pie pan?  Well, similar to Picky Palate’s idea of using a muffin top pan, using a pan like this allows all the cookies to bake up at the same uniform size.  
Put us in the oven!  We’re ready to be identical!  This makes for a happy Little Bitty.  It also allows the ability to stack:
How many cookies can we pile ’til it all topples over? 
I stopped here, because I didn’t really want to see all my cookies crash all over the counter.  This sorta reminds me of Jenga though.  Ooh, that would be fun – cookie Jenga! 
Question!  If you could make a board game go food, what would it be?  🙂
Chocolate Raspberry Cookies
1/2 cup butter, softened
1/2 cup shortening
2/3 cup dark brown sugar
2/3 cup granulated sugar
1 tbsp. white vinegar
2 eggs
1 tbsp. vanilla
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa
1 cup raspberries
1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Spray whoopie pie pan, muffin top pan, or cookie sheet with nonstick spray. 
2.  In bowl of stand mixer or large mixing bowl, cream butter, shortening and sugars.  Add eggs, one at a time.  Add vinegar and vanilla.  Mix until combined.
3.  In separate bowl, combine salt, baking powder, baking soda, flour, and cocoa.  Gradually add dry ingredients into wet ingredients, mixing on medium speed until combined. 
4.  Add raspberries to cookie dough.  Mix on low speed just until raspberries burst.
5.  For whoopie pie or muffin top pan:  Spoon cookie dough into tins, filling about 2/3 full.  For cookie sheet:  Drop cookie dough by rounded 1 to 2-tbsp full (bigger spoonfuls = bigger cookies!).  Bake 10 to 12 minutes.  
Leave a Reply

