Spiced Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

What’s your favorite food season?  My favorite food season is definitely fall.  There’s just something about all those warm, comforting foods that I will never grow tired of.  Actually,  I’m really just talking about two foods — pumpkin (and its winter squash siblings) and apples.  Apple crisp.  Pumpkin muffins.  Butternut squash with brown sugar.  Apple oatmeal.  Homemade apple sauce.  Pumpkin pie.  Pumpkin-Apple pancakes (I just made this up, but look for it this fall!).  And now, pumpkin whoopie pies! 🙂
I’ve been on somewhat of a whoopie pie craze ever since I got this whoopie pie pan a few weeks ago.  They’re just so darn fun, and I think the possibilities are never-ending.   I actually had planned to wait to try pumpkin whoopies ’til the fall, but a summer recipe contest forced me to accelerate my plans. 
Starting with a package of sugar cookie mix (for the contest!), I add an egg, butter, pumpkin pie spice, and lots of pumpkin. 🙂
Onto the cookie sheet and into the oven!  I actually didn’t use my whoopie pie pan for these, since this was for a contest entry.  I assume most people do not have a whoopie pie pan. 🙂
Spread a little cream cheese fluff between two cookies and you’re all done!  Warning:  I think I have really good self control, but if you like pumpkin, these are extremely difficult to resist! 
Spiced Pumpkin Whoopie Pies
1 package sugar cookie mix
5 tbsp. butter, softened
1 egg
1 cup canned pumpkin
2 ½ tsp. pumpkin pie spice
8 ounces cream cheese, softened
1 cup marshmallow creme
Heat oven to 350 degrees F.  Line cookie sheets with parchment paper or lightly spray with cooking spray.  Reserve 1/2 teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice for filling. 
In large bowl, beat cookie mix, butter, egg, pumpkin, and remaining 2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice with electric mixer on low speed until moistened.  Beat on medium speed 1 to 2 additional minutes until soft dough forms. 

Drop dough by 1/4-cupfuls onto cookie sheets, 2 to 3 inches apart.  Use back of spoon to flatten dropped dough into 3-inch circle.

Bake cookies 10 to 12 minutes until firm to touch. Cool 1 minute, then transfer to cooling racks to cool completely (about 20 minutes). 

In medium bowl, beat cream cheese, marshmallow creme, and reserved 1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice with electric mixer on high until fluffy.  To assemble whoopie pies, spread about 2 tablespoons of filling on bottom of one cookie.  Top with second cookie, bottom side down. 
Filling suggestions:  If it weren’t for the fact that I had to limit the amount of ingredients in my contest entry, I’d have added either 3 tbsp. miniature chocolate chips or 1 tbsp. maple flavor to the filling for an extra kick. 🙂
9 thoughts on “Spiced Pumpkin Whoopie Pies”

  1. These look Seriously Delish! My tween daughter would love to make these with me. But I don't think either of us could resist!!! Mmm.mmm

  2. Yummy!! I love Pumpkin Whoopie Pies! I will definitely have to try your recipe when I can get my hands on some pumpkin! I totally love fall cooking/baking too! It's my favorite season!

  3. Mmmm, Jennifer – Apple Cider Donuts are the best!! Especially right after they're made. 🙂

    Glad so many of you seem to agree fall is such a great food season!

Leave a Reply

