(Maple) Peanut Butter Parfaits

Happy Tuesday!  I am slowly recovering from an amazing weekend with my best friends in NYC.  Our weekend was filled with hours of shopping, aimless walking, and delicious food.  Of everything I consumed this weekend, though, I think my favorite was probably the peanut butter parfait at Peanut Butter & Co. 
If you’ve never been to PB&Co, put it on your list of places to visit!  It is every peanut butter lover’s dream, tucked away near Washington Square Park. You can basically get any type of PB sandwich, including the Elvis — yes, a toasted PB sandwich with bananas and bacon!  Since it was so hot out though, I needed something fairly cool.  My mom had gotten the parfait last time went to PB&Co, so I knew I’d like it.  Vanilla yogurt, tons of peanut butter, granola, banana and honey raspberry jam (I subbed in jam, yum!). 
I’ve sort of had that parfait stuck on my mind ever since we got back.  I kept thinking about it last night after dinner.  I thought about it on my run this morning.  There was only one thing to do.  Yep, I made it for breakfast!
Since I’m a big believer that nothing is as good as the real thing, I knew I couldn’t try to replicate the parfait entirely.  So I first stirred maple syrup and cinnamon into some vanilla greek yogurt, and then proceeded in layering Mighty Maple PB, vanilla almond granola, and banana slices.
The maple syrup and cinnamon was a great addition.  It was like a little maple PB sundae.  Who doesn’t want to start their Tuesday off with a sundae?  I’ll take a PB parfait over cereal any morning. 🙂  Unless it’s a bowl of Oh’s.  Then I might have to think about it. 

(Maple) PB Parfait
Makes 1 parfait
1 6 oz cup vanilla Greek yogurt
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1  1/2 tbsp maple syrup
2 tbsp. PB&Co. Mighty Maple PB
1/4 cup granola
1/2 banana, sliced

In addition to the PB parfait, I also enjoyed two NYC bagels with PB over the weekend.  I actually did a crazy messy PB/nutella on one.  I may need to go on a no-PB diet for a few days.  But it’s so good… what foods can you never have too much of?  If you’ve been to the city, what are your favorite NYC foods?
7 thoughts on “(Maple) Peanut Butter Parfaits”

Leave a Reply

