Cherry Chocolate Chip Oat Muffins

I’m not sure why, but I’ve never been much of a muffin person.  Maybe it’s because I immediately think ‘muffin-top’ when I see one.  Or maybe (and quite more likely) it’s because I love bagels and typically choose them for breakfast/ brunch by default.  Nonetheless, I realize many people adore muffins.  And we all know I’m never one to pass up an opportunity to bake. 🙂

Even though I’m fairly certain I’m mildly allergic to them, I can’t seem to eat enough cherries this summer.  A bowl full of chilled cherries is definitely one of my current favorite snacks.  With some extra cherries on hand and some chocolate chips sitting on the counter, I could only think of one thing.  Topping a bowl of ice cream with cherries and chocolate chips. Okay, two things.

Yep, that’s right.  I took plain muffin recipe and added some cherries and chocolate chips.  Not wanting the fun to end there, I added in some oats too.  Because oats make everything better.

I think I might try to make muffins more often.  Because they’re essentially breakfast cupcakes.  Sounds good to me!

On a separate note: would anyone like to contribute to the Buy Liz a DSLR Camera Fund? 🙂

Cherry Chocolate Chip Oat Muffins
Makes 12 muffins

3/4 cup milk
1 egg
1/2 cup oil
1 tsp. vanilla
1/2 cup pitted, chopped cherries
3/4 cup chocolate chips
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup quick-cooking oats
1 tsp. salt
3 tsp. baking powder

Heat oven to 400 degrees F.  Grease bottom of muffin tin or line with paper liners.

In a medium bowl, mix milk, egg, oil, and vanilla until combined.  Stir in chopped cherries and chocolate chips.

In a separate bowl, combine flour, oats, salt, and baking powder.  Stir to combine, then gradually add to wet ingredients.

Pour batter evenly into muffin cups.  Sprinkle with sugar if desired.  Bake 20 to 22 minutes or until muffin tops are golden brown.  Cool 15 to 20 minutes before removing from pan.

7 thoughts on “Cherry Chocolate Chip Oat Muffins”

Leave a Reply

