M&M’s Pretzel Chocolate Chip Cookies

Remember when I wrote about ordinary chocolate chip cookies?  And how I said I was going to start making one non-traditional chocolate chip cookie recipe each week?
Well, extraordinary chocolate chip cookie number one is officially on the books.  We’re starting simple on this adventure.  I didn’t want to scare you away in week one by pulling out bacon or something.  Yes, this will happen at some point here.  I might name them How Sweet Chocolate Chip Cookies.
It’s only fitting the cookie for week one of Chocolate Chip Thursday’s is one with pretzels in it.  I could live on pretzels.  Bite-size pretzels, sourdough pretzels, soft pretzels, pretzel rods, pretzel crackers, pretzel rolls, pretzel M and M’s… Pretzel M and M’s?!
I’ve had a 40-ounce bag of M and M’s Pretzel sitting in my apartment for a few weeks now.  Aside from eating one too many handfuls every night and even tossing a few onto a peanut butter sandwich last week, I’ve been trying to think of ways to get rid of use these colorful spheres of deliciousness. 
If you ever find yourself with a few too many M and M’s Pretzel on your hands, crush them up and throw them into cookies. You will not regret this.  Simple, sweet and salty.


*Edited to add:  A week after posting this recipe, I was clicking through Maria’s blog, and found that she posted a similar recipe months before.  I completely forgot, but I think her cookies must have subconsciously been floating around my head. 🙂


These are ‘go big or go home’ cookies.  Palm-size.  
Thanks for reading through Week One!  See you next Thursday. 
M and M’s Pretzel Chocolate Chip Cookies
(Subconsciously inspired by Two Peas and Pod)
Makes about 2 dozen large cookies
1 cup vegetable shortening
1/2 cup white sugar
1 cup light brown sugar
1 tsp. vanilla
2 eggs
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. salt
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 1/2 cups crushed M and M’s Pretzel
Heat oven to 375 degrees F.  Line cookie sheets with parchment paper for easy clean up. 
In large mixing bowl, cream shortening and sugars until mixed.  Add vanilla and eggs, beating until well mixed.  
In large bowl, combine flour, baking soda, and salt.  Mix until combined.  Gradually add flour mixture into wet ingredients, mixing until blended.  Stir in chocolate chips and M and M’s Pretzel. 
Drop cookies by rounded one- or two-tablespoonfuls, depending on size preference.  Bake about 10 minutes, until light golden brown.
11 thoughts on “M&M’s Pretzel Chocolate Chip Cookies”

  1. I've been waiting for these after you tweets last week! (I swear I'm not a stalker as creepy as that sounded…) They look delish. My dad is obsessed with pretzels and he's coming for a visit Saturday so I know what I'll be making Friday night. Thanks for sharing!

    PS – I love chocolate chip Thursday

  2. Ohmygod, I just tried to take a bite out of my computer screen! YUMMM. I haven't even TRIED the M&M pretzels yet. Maybe I'll do that tonight and THEN try the cookies. Ohh and if you like chocolate and pretzels then you might like this snack idea: Get Snyder's waffle-shaped pretzels and put a Rolo in between two to make a little sandwich. Then heat in the microwave (about 20 sec.), smash together, let harden in fridge. SO YUMMY. So easy.

  3. HI Liz:
    I stumbled on your blog and I absolutely love it!!! I have a quick question about the M&Ms… Do you crush them up first or put them in the batter whole?

    Tracy

Leave a Reply

