Maple Pancetta Parmesan Brussels Sprouts

Yep.  You read that correctly.  While you may be stuck on the maple pancetta parmesan, I can’t get over the brussels sprouts.  I can’t believe I ate those little cabbages.
I love veggies.  Give me all the carrots, peppers, broccoli, and corn in the world and I’d be a happy camper.  Okay, maybe I’d need a couple bagels and cookies to be happy.  But there are a handful of vegetables I avoid.  Ones I fear.  Ones I’ve never ever tried and could go the rest of my life without.  Brussels sprouts are were on that list.
Soon after a certain veggie-hater cooked up brussels sprouts with bacon and potatoes, I thought, if Jessica can eat them, maybe I can too.  I headed to the Disneyworld of grocery stores to grab those scary little green guys along with some pancetta and parmesan cheese.  Just as my first sips of coffee included tons of sugar and cream, I knew I’d need to mask those little green cabbages with other flavors, too. 
 Following Jessica’s simple instructions for cooking brussels sprouts on the stove, I quickly learned cooked brussels sprouts should never ever be offered as a lotion scent at Bath and Body Works.  It was also at this time that I realized another ingredient would be necessary in this endeavor.  Maple syrup.

While I can’t say brussels sprouts have been crossed off my veggie hating list, this is certainly the way I’d prefer to eat them. If you’re a brussels sprouts lover, you’ll love this recipe. 

Maple Pancetta Parmesan Brussels Sprouts
Makes 2 servings
1 1/2 tbsp. butter
3 thin slices pancetta
8 brussels sprouts
1/3 cup maple syrup
1/3 cup greated parmigiano reggiano cheese
Reserve 1 tbsp. butter, and melt remaining 1/2 tbsp. butter in medium skillet over medium heat.  Add pancetta slices to pan and cook about 2 minutes on each side, until browned.  Remove pancetta from pan and chop once cooled enough to handle.
Remove stems from brussels sprouts and chop each in half.  Melt reserved 1 tbsp. butter in skillet over medium heat. Add brussels sprouts to pan, flat-side down, and cook about 5 minutes, until slightly charred.  Flip brussels sprouts and continue cooking about 4 to 5 minutes.  Remove from skillet.
Heat oven to broil.  Place maple syrup and cheese in two shallow dishes.  Dunk top (flat-side) of each brussels sprout half into maple syrup, then into cheese.  Place on baking sheet, flat-side up, and sprinkle with chopped pancetta.  Place under broiler about 2 minutes, until cheese melts.
Leave a Reply

