Pumpkin Shortbread Bars w/ White Chocolate "Mousse"

This time of year, pumpkin recipes on food blogs go hand in hand.  My blog is certainly no exception, and I’m far from done for the year.  This time around, I wanted a baking adventure.   Something a bit outside the the box, you know?  Naturally, I did what any good pumpkin lover would do in the month of October.  What could possibly be better than pumpkin shortbread? 

 Oh, right.  Creamy white chocolate “mousse” and roasted pecans. 

I liked these a lot.  Yes, I ate them.  Can you believe a certain sister of mine (the one with the tastebuds of a five year old) recently tried to tell someone I don’t eat any of the things I make on my blog?  Rest easy, my friends.  You’ll never see a recipe of mine that I haven’t tasted.


Pumpkin Shortbread with White Chocolate “Mousse” and Roasted Pecans
Makes 10-12 slices

Shortbread
1/2 cup butter
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 tsp. salt
1 tsp. vanilla
1/2 cup pumpkin puree
1 tsp. nutmeg
1 tsp. cinnamon
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

Topping
1 cup white chocolate chips
1 cup frozen whipped topping, thawed (Cool Whip)
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/2 cup roasted pecans


Heat oven to 300 degrees.  Lightly grease a ten-inch round cake pan with cooking spray.


In large bowl, beat butter, sugar, salt, and vanilla until creamy.  Add pumpkin and stir until mixed.


In a medium bowl, stir nutmeg, cinnamon, and flour until blended.  Gradually add dry ingredients into wet ingredients until mixed; dough will be stiff.


Press dough evenly into greased pan.  Pierce dough with a fork into desired pattern. Bake about 30 to 35 minutes, until edges are light brown.  Immediately run a knife around the pan to loosen edges (I used a springform pan, which eliminates this step).  Allow to cool 5 minutes, then cut into 10 or 12 pieces, depending on desired size.

In a small microwaveable bowl, melt white chocolate chips on high for 30 to 60 seconds, stirring frequently, until just melted.  Fold in whipped topping.  Use a pastry bag or spoon to spread over top of shortbread.  Sprinkle roasted pecans on top.

17 thoughts on “Pumpkin Shortbread Bars w/ White Chocolate "Mousse"”

  1. I recently saw a recipe for pumpkin shortbread cookies, but I think yours look even better in bar form (more to love). I'll definitely keep this recipe in mind.

  2. Lauren – I had never made shortbread either until recently. It is delicious, you have to try it.

    Lisa – Lori (Recipe Girl) posted a pumpkin shortbread cookie late last week. I like the way you think – bars = more cookie. 🙂

  3. i just made these and was a little disappointed in the lumpy mousse…not sure what I did wrong 😦 Still tasted good, just didn't look so pretty

  4. Hmm. Make sure your white chocolate is completely melted, and then fold in the whipped topping immediately. I think moving quickly is the key to making the mousse smooth. Better luck next time?

Leave a Reply

