Pumpkin Ice Cream Chocolate Chunk Bars

Something sad happened a few nights ago.  I ran out of this ice cream.  If you’ve ever had Edy’s pumpkin ice cream, you can probably empathize.  

 Even though I ran out of the ice cream, I’m still eating it.  How is that possible, you ask?  
Well, I knew I needed a creative recipe for you guys today after last week’s chocolate chip cookies.  So I pulled a Picky Palate and put ice cream in my cookies

 
Before you go shouting from the rooftops that you just found pumpkin cookie heaven, you should know that these don’t have an intense pumpkin flavor like pumpkin pie.  It’s more of a subtle spiced flavor inside a soft cookie that leaves you pondering what exactly is going on.  
 Of course, you could throw a scoop or two of pumpkin ice cream right on top of a warm cookie bar.  This may explain how my pumpkin ice cream disappeared in just one week.  I’ll be replacing it tomorrow though.  I mean, I only have ten days until my first marathon.  Fuel of champions!
Pumpkin Ice Cream Chocolate Chunk Bars
1/2 cup butter, softened
1/2 cup sugar
3/4 cup brown sugar
1 tsp. vanilla
2 eggs
1/2 cup Edy’s pumpkin ice cream
1 tbsp. pumpkin pie spice
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. salt
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chunks
Heat oven to 350 degrees F.  Grease a nine-inch square pan or 8 x 10 inch pan with nonstick cooking spray.  In large bowl, beat butter, sugars, and vanilla until creamy.  Add eggs, one at a time, and beat until smooth.  Mix in pumpkin ice cream on medium speed until blended.  
In separate large bowl, mix pumpkin pie spice, baking soda, salt, and flour.  Add dry ingredients into wet ingredients, mixing until blended.  Stir in chocolate chunks.  
Spread cookie dough into greased pan and bake about 15 to 17 minutes, until golden brown.  Allow bars to cool about 10 to 15 minutes, then cut into desired size.
Serve with ice cream.  Preferably pumpkin. 😉
10 thoughts on “Pumpkin Ice Cream Chocolate Chunk Bars”

  1. Another good pumpkin recipe! I've never thought of actually putting pumpkin ice cream in the recipe. I'll have to do that next time i run out of canned pumpkin.

Leave a Reply

