White Chocolate Chip Cranberry Thumbprint Cookies

It occurred to me last week that I’ve been neglecting anything fruity on Chocolate Chip Thursday’s.  Naturally, I had to put this problem to rest.  But I wanted to do something different.  I know, I know.  Big surprise.  
I know you’re going to have cranberry sauce on hand within the next few weeks, so I decided a little tartness was in order.  Sure, you’ve had (and may have even made) thumbprint cookies with a jam center, but this holiday season, why not change it up a bit?  Why not fill those thumbprints with cranberry sauce?  And while we’re breaking traditions, and because I’ve never met a white chocolate chip I didn’t love… Why not add white chocolate chips to your cookie dough? 
You can go ahead and used canned cranberry sauce if you dare, but I’d recommend using a whole cranberry sauce.  Give mine a try for extra zesty cookies!

White Chocolate Chip Cranberry Thumbprint Cookies
Makes about two and a half dozen cookies
1 cup butter, softened
1 1/3 cup granulated sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp. vanilla
1/2 tbsp. grated citrus zest (lemon, lime, or orange)
1 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. salt
3 cups all-purpose flour
2 cups white chocolate chips
1 cup cranberry sauce
Heat oven to 350 degrees F.  Line cookie sheet with parchment paper or silicone baking mat.
In large mixing bowl, beat butter and sugar until creamy.  Add eggs, one at a time, and beat until smooth.  Stir in vanilla and citrus zest.
In separate bowl, combine baking soda, salt, and flour.  Gradually add dry ingredients into wet ingredients, mixing until combined.  Stir in white chocolate chips.
Form dough into 1 to 1 1/2-inch balls, setting onto cookie sheet about 2 inches apart.  Bake about 10 minutes.  Immediately make a rounded indentation in center of cookie.  Allow to cool about 15 minutes, then spread about 1/2 tablespoon of cranberry sauce into center of each cookie.
Tip:  I use a melon baller or small cookie scoop to make an indentation in the center of each cookie. 
9 thoughts on “White Chocolate Chip Cranberry Thumbprint Cookies”

  1. This would be a great addition to our Thanksgiving desserts. Pumpkin and apple pie get a little old year after year. Cranberry sauce is one of my favorite parts of Turkey Day!

  2. I have NEVER made a thumbprint cookie, can you believe?? I am not a BIG while chocolate person, but they sound like a PERFECT flavor with the tart cranberry.

    I am adding these to our Tofurkey Day menu !! 🙂

Leave a Reply

