A Special Post: Iron Foodie 2010 Entry

Very rarely (okay, never) do I share anything besides original recipes or tales of marathon training with you, but I promise today is a great exception.  You see, after making it to the finals of the Duncan Hines Red Carpet Cupcake Challenge this past July, only to be defeated in the final round of judging, I shied away from entering additional food-related contests in fear of defeat.  But in the midst of my anxiety leading up to my first-ever marathon this weekend, I’ve decided to face fear straight in the eye.  It’s contest time!  
       

   

       

Iron Foodie 2010 | Here's Why that will be me:     

MarxFoods.com -- Fine Bulk Foods

The Foodie BlogRoll       

Earlier this week I received an email from the Foodie Blogroll detailing a contest named Iron Foodie 2010.  That’s right, folks — this contest  will run similar to the legendary cooking show Iron Chef.  I can remember watching Iron Chef back in tenth grade, intrigued by the intricate dishes chefs prepared under extreme time and ingredient constraints.  
Though excited about the prospect, I hesitated to enter this contest.  Why would they choose me?  Am I setting myself up for defeat again?  But the thrill of using secret ingredients from Marx Foods to prepare a signature dish reeled me in.  I mean, what if one of those ingredients is coconut sugar?!  I reminded myself it never hurts to try.  Stick that one in your back pocket. 
Okay, okay.  For our entry into the Iron Foodie 2010 contest, we’re required to answer a series of foodie-related questions.  Bon appetit!
    Why do you want to compete in this challenge?   For just that reason – the competition.  I’ve always been a competitor —  in the swimming pool, in the classroom, the workplace, on the pavement… Why not add the kitchen to that list?  I love preparing original recipes with unique ingredients as much as I love pushing myself to succeed, and this contest  seems like it’s a perfect fit for all of this. 
      Limitations of time/space notwithstanding, whose kitchen would you like to spend the day in and why? Julia Child, Thomas Keller, Ferran Adria, James Beard, Marie-Antoine Careme, or The Swedish Chef?  I’m sure this is an overwhelmingly popular answer, but… Julia Child!  And not just because I’d love to pick her brain about her tremendously successful career as an author and chef.  I think Julia would put me in my place in the kitchen and demand me to slow down.  I’d think of it as the worlds best culinary program in twenty-four hours.  Sure, I might think of creative ways to stick cake batter into cookies, but I’d love to perfect crepes or pastry puffs.
        What morsel are you most likely to swipe from family and friends’ plates when they aren’t looking?  That dollop of whipped cream on top of a slice of pie, or the middle layer of frosting in a piece of cake.  Or the puddle of hot fudge that remains after a hot fudge sundae.  You do realize 90% of my recipes are desserts, right? 
          Sum your childhood up in one meal.  Macaroni and cheese with rainbow sprinkles on top.  Being the youngest of four, I was a laid-back and easy-to-please kiddo.  And I had a seemingly magnetic attraction to all things glitter and sparkles. 
            The one mainstream food you can’t stand?  Sushi.  Sure, it hasn’t always been thought of as mainstream, but considering I can (but gosh would I never) buy it in my upstate New York grocery store, it’s safe to say it’s conventional.  I can’t stand the taste of seaweed.  And raw fish?  Bleh.  Being a sushi chef would probably be a more effective diet for me than any other fad I’ve ever tried.   
            Feel free to comment with your answer to any of these questions.  I’d be comforted to know I’m not the only crazy foodie out there!
            5 thoughts on “A Special Post: Iron Foodie 2010 Entry”

            1. rainbow sprinkles? 😀

              I am SO excited that you are doing this!! I cannot wait to see what you do!

              Yep – I too am the dessert swiper!! I (ahem – used to) take the crumble off danish, off cobbler, off anything with a crumble… I would take the middle of someone's danish or cinnamon roll in AN INSTANT. 😀

              Good luck !! ❤

            Leave a Reply

            