Curried Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Gnocchi

I know.  That’s a whole ‘lotta words for a simple pasta dish.  But we’ve got a lot going on here, and I don’t want to waste your time.  
I need to preface this by telling you this was my first time making pasta of any type.  I decided to go big or go home.  Last week was all about carbo loading before the big day, and I wanted to have fun with it.  If you’re curious, my sweet potato gnocchi lack the traditional orange hue of a sweet potato because I was too intrigued by ‘New Jersey white sweet potatoes’ at Wegmans.  If you’ve never had the white sweeties, they’re worth hunting down!
I usually spare you step-by-step instructions due to my lack of a fancy camera, but I know gnocchi can be a bit tricky.  Sure, you can just slice up the little pasta pieces and throw ’em into boiling water, but you should at least try to make ’em look fancy, which is what I did.
 Get a fork ready by dusting it in flour, then press and slide your little gnocchi right down the tines of the fork.
And wa-la!  Little gnocchi ridges. 
You can prep these any way you want.  I strongly suggest a simple browned butter sauce with roasted veggies.  

Curried Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Gnocchi 
Serves 2
2 medium sweet potatoes
1 egg white
1/4 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. curry powder
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
Heat oven to 400 degrees F.  Bake sweet potatoes about 30 to 40 minutes, turning half way through cooking, until fork tender.  Let potatoes cool just enough to handle them.  
Peel skin from still warm potatoes and grate potatoes into a medium mixing bowl.  Add egg white, salt, and curry powder and mix until combined.  Add in flour, mixing until dough does not stick to your fingertips.  
Turn dough onto floured surface, and knead about one to two minutes.  Split dough in half, and use your hands to roll each dough have into a rope about 3/4 inch thick.  Use a knife to cut dough into one-inch pieces.
To create ridges, use the back of a lightly floured fork, rolling each dough piece along the tines of the fork. 
To cook, drop gnocchi into salted boiling water, cooking until gnocchi float to the top of the water.  Drain and serve as desired.
7 thoughts on “Curried Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Gnocchi”

  1. That looks delicious! I love sweet potatoes. I like eating them plain because you don't really have to eat them with anything else(: I love all the different colored veggies too!

Leave a Reply

