Orange Dark Chocolate Chip Muffins

Hoo-ha, it’s Thursday!  Can you believe Thanksgiving is a week from today?  Crazy.  Okay, let’s get down to business.
If you haven’t noticed, most of my baking tends to be what I call later-in-the-day baked goods.  You know,  like cookies and cakes.  Of course, it’s perfectly acceptable to jump start your day with a cupcake.  But let’s be honest, that won’t put you on the fast track to good health.  Muffins to the rescue!  Okay.  I know.  Muffins are no bowl of cheerios either.  But these have orange (vitamin C) and dark chocolate (antioxidants).  Woo!  
I always crave oranges and clementines this time of year.  You see, with colder temperatures upon us here in the Northeast, it’s important to keep flavors nice and fresh.  No winter blues here!  
That dusting of powdered sugar?  Well, that’s me reluctantly embracing the snowy winter I know is on its way.
Orange Dark Chocolate Chip Muffins
Makes 12 muffins
1/2 cup butter, melted and cooled to room temperature
3/4 cup sugar
2 eggs
1 tbsp. grated orange zest
2 tbsp. fresh squeezed orange juice
2 cups all-purpose flour
2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 cup milk
1 cup dark chocolate chips
Confectioner’s sugar, for garnish
Heat oven to 375 degrees F.  Line muffin tin with baking cups or spray with nonstick cooking spray.
In large bowl, beat melted butter and sugar until creamy.  Add eggs, one at a time, beating until combined.  Beat in orange zest and juice.
In separate bowl, mix flour, baking powder, and salt until combined.  Gradually add dry ingredients into wet ingredients, alternating with the milk, and stir until just combined.  Gently fold in dark chocolate chips.
Spread into muffin tins and bake about 15 to 17 minutes, until muffins are golden brown.  Dust warm muffins with Confectioner’s sugar.
10 thoughts on “Orange Dark Chocolate Chip Muffins”

  1. muffins are awesome! 🙂

    orange and chocolate are great together, and these sound SO good… you still have my address, yes? I'll take any extra off your hands for you… just trying to help! 😉

    HAPPY THURSDAY !!

  2. Congrats on your marathon…that is AWESOME and your time was amazing!

    It sounds like we have some similarities…I love to run and bake too! I did my first half-marathon earlier this fall…I am definitely planning on another one next year….and maybe a full sometime.

    Glad I found your blog – have a great day!
    Mindy

  3. YUMMMMMM~ola!
    Hello there Sweet~Thing!
    My name is Teresa!
    I'm Teresa…from Blooming on Bainbridge!
    I'm delighted that Bridget has adopted YOU…lovely YOU!
    ANd I am delighted to meet you too!
    Hugs and Sweet Kisses!
    xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxo
    Love those MUFFINS!

  4. Don't forget they also have the vitamin punch of egg, the B complex vitamins from the flour, and the calcium from the butter and milk – all in all, a pretty nutritious breaky from where I am standing – I mean, sitting… drooling over my computer…. Thanks for sharing. LOVE your blog, it might just spark me out of my blues. 🙂

  5. Congrats on your half, Mindy!

    Lachelle, I'm with you on the clementines. I've been eating them all week.

    Heather, I like the way you think. Eggs = protein. 🙂 And I will try my best to pull you out of your blues.

Leave a Reply

