Mini Rosemary Acorn Squash Biscuits

Happy Thanksgiving week!  Who’s excited about the short work week?  I know I am!  I’ll be heading home for the holiday weekend, so I’m on a mission to clear out the fruits and veggies in my fridge.  I’ve had a pretty little acorn squash hanging out in my fridge for about two weeks, and I know I won’t exactly be craving squash after Thursday’s feast.  Hmm.  What’s a girl to do?

Whip up a batch of mini acorn squash biscuits, natch! 

I love using cream cheese instead of shortening or butter in biscuits.  I think it makes for a soft, creamy biscuit.  Biscuits can be creamy, right?  Oh, and don’t even try to make these without rosemary.  Mmm.  I think my love of basil may soon be challenged by rosemary. 

If you’re looking for an alternative to traditional rolls at Thanksgiving dinner this week, these are a great swap.  And make extra – they would be delicious with a little leftover turkey sandwiched between them.  Black Friday fuel!

Mini Rosemary Acorn Squash Biscuits
Makes 14 mini biscuits

1 1/8 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 tbsp. baking powder
1 tsp. fresh chopped rosemary
1/8 tsp. salt
1/8 tsp. pepper
2 tbsp. cream cheese
1/2 cup pureed acorn squash
3 tbsp. milk
1 tbsp. brown sugar

Heat oven to 400 degrees F.

In large mixing bowl, combine flour, baking powder, rosemary, salt, and pepper.  Cut in cream cheese, mixing until small crumbs form. 

In a separate bowl, stir squash, milk, and brown sugar until smooth.  Add to dry ingredients, and stir until just combined.  Knead dough 10 times on floured cutting board.  Pat out dough to one-inch thickness and use a lightly-floured two-inch biscuit cutter to cut biscuits. 

Bake on an ungreased cookie sheet 10 to 12 minutes, until light golden brown. 

7 thoughts on “Mini Rosemary Acorn Squash Biscuits”

  1. These look yummy – I have made sweet potato biscuits, but never thought of using squashes – duh! Also like the cream cheese. I need to try that! (And with leftovers sounds delicious!)

Leave a Reply

