Black Friday Cookies

You guys can thank my sister partly for this one.  I was going to skip Chocolate Chip Thursday this week due to the holiday.  You know, because after eating pumpkin, apple, and whatever other kind of pie, I suspect the last thing one would want to do is read about cookies.  But she insisted I whip something up, so…

I was going to call these Pumpkin Molasses Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies, but with today being Thanksgiving, I figured we all have enough mouthfuls to deal with.  I wanted to make a cookie that would be good for Black Friday.  You know, so when I’m standing outside in the freezing cold at 5am waiting to steal whatever this year’s bargain is, I have something to distract myself with. 

Thanks to my Trader Joe’s ginger cat cookies, I’ve been wanting to do a molasses cookie for about a week now.  But I’ve actually never made molasses cookies.  So I turned to my grandma’s (now my mom’s) 1970’s cookie book for guidance. 

Of course, I had to add chocolate chips.  And my sister really wanted me to make pumpkin oatmeal cookies.  So essentially, we’ve got three cookies going on here.  In case you aren’t quite sure, three cookies in one is a great thing.

So why are these Black Friday cookies?  Three reasons.  The flavors are sure to get you in the holiday spirit as you prepare to brave the crowds.  They’re super soft, making them a perfect breakfast cookie.  And lastly, the oats will stick to your ribs, so while your competitors fellow shoppers begin to run out of steam, you can push on.  Go get ’em!

Black Friday Cookies

1/2 cup shortening
1/3 cup pumpkin
1/4 cup molasses
1 cup light brown sugar
1 egg
2 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. cloves
1 tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. ginger
1 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup quick oats
1 1/4 cups semi-sweet chocolate chip cookies
 
In a large mixing bowl, beat shortening, pumpkin, molasses, sugar, and egg until creamy.  Gradually add in all dry ingredients (soda through oats) until combined.  Stir in chocolate chips.
 
Heat oven to 375 degrees F.  Form about 3 tablespoons of dough into a ball, place on cookie sheet, then flatten each to about 3 inch diameter.  Bake 10 to 12 minutes, until light golden brown.

4 thoughts on “Black Friday Cookies”

Leave a Reply

