3-2-1 Funfetti Cake Batter Dip

Happy 2011!  I hope you had a great New Year’s.  If, like several Americans, you’re beginning 2011 with healthier intentions, I’ll be happy to let you know the recipe I’m about to share with you calls for yogurt… and cake mix.  But don’t forget about the yogurt.  That lets you justify eating dip that tastes just like cake batter in early January.

Since I was traveling to spend the weekend with my sister, I decided to use the leftover cake mix from these pancakes to bring with me on the road.  See, my sister and I had planned to make a cake batter dip before Christmas, but cookie exchanges and desserts galore (which are still not gone yet) got in the way.  I think every year I make a long list of things I plan to bake/cook for Christmas, and only make it about 75% through.  Please tell me I’m not the only one?  Maybe I should make that list shorter next Christmas.

Anyway, back to the dip…  if you’re not trying to keep early 2011 a bit lighter, this recipe can be doubled, tripled (or quadrupled) quite easily.  Just maintain that 3-2-1 ratio of cake mix, yogurt, and cool whip.  Easy as pie dip!

Funfetti Cake Batter Dip
3 tbsp. Funfetti cake mix
2 tbsp. plain yogurt
1 tbsp. cool whip (or whipped cream)
Wisk cake mix and yogurt until smooth.  Fold in cool whip.  Refrigerate until serving.  Serve with pretzels or animal crackers. 
69 thoughts on “3-2-1 Funfetti Cake Batter Dip”

  1. Oh. My. Word. I found this recipe via Pinterest and just made it. It is SO amazingly tasty! I will be making this for every single person I know and wll be serving it at the very next party I have! Thanks for the great recipe! 🙂

  2. Has anyone made it using a box of funfetti? How much yogurt and cool whip do you use? I think I am going to send to school with my 5 year old tomorrow for his special snack day.

    1. Hi Jennifer – do you mean an entire box of Funfetti? I would measure out the Funfetti mix – maybe do 2 cups of Funfetti mix, 1 1/3 cups yogurt, and 2/3 cup cool whip…

  3. Whole box=~3 cups. So 1 8oz Tub cool whip, and about 1cup and 1/4 yougurt(I used vanilla) any more yogurt its too tangy. I just made it with the whole box for a party, kids love it.

    1. I actually made this dip with plain Greek yogurt! It was a bit more tart than what you’d get with regular yogurt or vanilla yogurt, but I liked it that way!

  4. Just made sum its very yummy! i made it X4 and i probly will eat whole bowl, with animal crackers of course, i was making it for me and my 3 year old and i turned around and she was asleep in the couch, well i will have to make again when she wakes up. lol

    1. Haha, I hope you hurried up and ate it so that you “had” to make more to share 🙂 I love that it’s so easy to whip up!

  5. Hello there, i was wondering if you could use strawberry yogurt with it instead of plain yogurt, do you think that would work?

    1. Hi Sarah, I’m actually going to be making this dip soon and will be sure to get an accurate idea of serving size and calories, but in the recipe listed here, the entire recipe has about 200 calories.

      1. Yes! I used a squirt of whipped cream on a tbsp because I, like you, hate cool whip! It came out delicious and whip cream is only 15 calories per tbsp. Try it, you won’t be let down!

  6. I tried this with regular yogurt and it was freaking awesome. But then I ran out regular and decided to use vanilla GREEK yogurt and it created this AMAZING Cheesecake Funfetti Cake Batter dip. I mean it really tasted like cheesecake mixed with cake batter (probably because greek yogurt is a bit more tart) and it was amazing, plus the added protein of greek yogurt 😉 I can’t wait to try all kinds of other combos. Thank you for this recipe and proving that anyone can soooo have cake batter on a diet!!!

  7. Pingback: 3 ingredient cake
  8. Dear Liz,

    I know this is an old post and I’ve not read most ofl the comments, but I just received the funfetti link from craftquickies.com today. If you like to live and eat healthily you might want to give this store bought cake mix a miss. I am really surprised that people who proclaim they live a healthy lifestyle still eat products with partially hydrogenated oils, white flour and artificial food colorings . . . and that was taken from a quick scan of the ingredient list. I’m sure most of us cheat when we are at a restaurant, but in my own house, I try to eat well and have fun with it. Just sayin’ you might want to re-think this especially if you eat it often.

    1. Hi Ellen – Thank you for the note! In my opinion, life is too short to pass up treats you enjoy every now and then, regardless of nutritional value. That said, I respect your stance to eat well and as healthy as possible all the time, and I hope you respect my stance as well. This dip (and many of the other things I share on this blog) is a “splurge” type treat for me — I make healthy choices as often as I can.

  9. To whomever Ellen is…seriously?? Was it really necessary to post that? You can be healthy and still enjoy desserts. As long as everything is in moderation. I think this is the best dip ever!

    1. I have to say I agree with Ellen. She wasn’t being rude she was just showing the other side. I have seen this dip on many blogs claiming that is is “healthy”. I bought this for my kids. The first ingredient is sugar. Within 20 minutes all three of my kids had stomach aches from this probably because of how processed and unhealthy it really is. It is NOT healthy. It might not be as bad as eating a piece of cake, however it should not be proclaimed as being a healthy alternative on so many blogs.

      1. Hi Maggie — first, thank you for your comments. I understand that since creating this dip, it has sort of circulated around the Internet, so it wouldn’t surprise me that some people might be explaining it as a “healthy” dessert. Personally, I wouldn’t consider it truly healthy, but rather healtheir than some alternatives. That said, and as I sort of mentioned to Ellen, I think every individual is entitled to their own definition of a healthy lifestyle.

  10. Can this dip be made with cool whip free? I want to try it for my 6 years old’s party on Sunday. It looks great and I think they’ll love it, but I don’t need the extra calories! Fingers crosssed:)

    1. Hi Kelly, I think you can make it without Cool Whip. It won’t be as sweet, but it’s still good. I’ve added funfetti mix to vanilla Greek yogurt before for a semi-healthy snack.

  11. I tried this for the first time at a party. It was served with graham crackers and strawberries. It was incredible with the berries. Tart and sweet!

  12. Just whipped this up, in the proportions Sharyce (thank you) listed, I figured it’d be alright, but OH MY GOODNESS!!! It is for my daughters Candy Land birthday party tomorrow, we’re calling it “Rainbow Path Dip”. I had no idea it’d be SOOOO GOOOD!!!! It’s not super sweet, I love that, we have fruits and teddy grahams and pretzels and all kinds of tasty things for dipping into it and into Chocolate Swamp Goo (chocolate ganache basically) This is going to be a hit! Thank you sooo much!

    1. Hi Gina – Holy cow, you guys really went to town with all those combos! I was impressed to see it. 🙂 I love it!

      1. Hi Liz! Thank you! I inevitably have thought of many more combos too, so I’m sure we’ll be updating it later. =) Thanks again for this great site and your hard work.

  13. I am making this for tonight’s youth night at church–was wondering how cream cheese would do/taste?? Thanks–I’m looking forward to making it/eating it!!!

    1. Hi Betty – cream cheese in place of yogurt? I think that would work, although it may be a bit thicker (if it is, just add a splash of water until it’s a ‘dippable’ consistency). Let me know if you make it with the cream cheese, I’d like to know how it turns out!

  14. While I will be making this VERY soon I just wanted to let you know that after seeing this repined and reblogged everyone has determined that you have made Dunkaroo Dip! Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

