Butterscotch Pear Trifle

A few weeks ago, I bought my very own trifle dish. 

DSCN2593

I’d been meaning to purchase one for quite some time, and now that I have one, I see many more trifles in my future!  I think I’m off to a good start, but if you have any great trifle recipes, shoot them my way!

DSCN2592

I hopped back and forth in deciding whether to use apples or pears for this trifle.  I’ve been loving pears lately, though, so I decided to include them in this trifle.  You could easily swap them for apples and it’d be equally delightful. Smile

DSCN2559

You can use a yellow cake or spice cake in this trifle if you can’t get your hands on this Duncan Hines Caramel Apple cake mix.  It’s a bit more expensive than your typical boxed cake mix, but I promise it’s worth the pocket change – the caramel sauce is ooey gooey and really puts the trifle over the top! 

Oh, speaking of the cake, I recommend you discard (eat) the edges of the cake, to make for a prettier trifle.

Picture1

Butterscotch Pear Trifle

  • Duncan Hines Caramel Apple Cake Mix
  • Eggs, oil, water as called for on package instructions (I replaced the oil with applesauce)
  • 1 package (3.4 oz) Jell-O Instant butterscotch pudding mix
  • 1/2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 1 1/2 cups cool whip
  • 4 pears, peeled, cored and chopped
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1 tbsp. flour
  • 3 tbsp. orange juice
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1 container cool whip

For the cake:

Bake cake as directed on package in 13 x 9 inch pan.  Set aside.

For the pudding:

Whisk pudding mix, pumpkin pie spice, and milk about 2 minutes, then stir in 1 1/2 cups cool whip.  Refrigerate 2 to 3 hours, or overnight.

For the fruit:

Combine chopped pears, walnuts, flour, orange juice, cinnamon, and nutmeg in a slow cooker.  Cook on low about 4 hours or until pears are tender, stirring occasionally.  Once cooked, transfer to bowl and allow to cool.

To assemble:

Cut cake into one-inch squares.  Place half the cake pieces into a trifle dish.  Spread half of the pudding over cake pieces, then half of the fruit, then half of the cool whip.  Repeat.  Garnish with pumpkin pie spice.

Leave a Reply

