“The Best” Red Velvet Cupcakes with Vanilla Mascarpone Frosting

RSCN2919

Before I started writing a blog of my own, one of the first blogs I followed was Kevin and Amanda.  Aside from wishing I had her crafting abilities, Amanda’s incredibly decadent recipes and food travels are what has made me a loyal reader of her blog. 

For quite some time, I’ve been eyeing Amanda’s recipe for the BEST chocolate cake ever.  The fact that a boxed cake mix is involved just makes the recipe even more enticing.  I can have the best chocolate cake ever without sifting flour and cocoa?!  Sign me up.  

Last week, I got to thinking… I wonder if the BEST chocolate cake ever could go red?

About two hours later, I was in the kitchen excitedly mixing red velvet cake mix with sour cream, pudding, and the like. 

Picture1

For the cake recipe, head over to Amanda’s.  All you need to do is swap a red velvet cake mix for the chocolate one.  If, like me, you make cupcakes, you’ll have 24 beautiful cupcakes after baking about 22-24 minutes at 350.  Allow the cupcakes to cool completely before frosting. 

DSCN2897

So, the frosting… this *might* be the BEST mascarpone frosting ever. Open-mouthed smile

RSCN2921

If you’ve never worked with this sweet, creamy cheese, give it a try!  Beats cream cheese any day of the week.  Yes, it may have you logging an extra mile or two on the treadmill, but trust me, it’s worth the sweat. 

RSCN2920Oh, and if you’re still wondering…

Yes, the BEST chocolate cake ever can go red.  These cupcakes were everything I’d hope they’d be…

Moist, rich, and…velvety. Winking smile

Vanilla Mascarpone Frosting

Frosts 24 cupcakes

  • 6 tbsp. unsalted butter, softened
  • 12 oz. mascarpone cheese
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp. milk
  • 4-5 cups powdered sugar

In a large mixing bowl, cream the butter and mascarpone until fluffy and smooth, about 2 to 3 minutes. 

Add salt, vanilla, and milk and beat on medium speed about 30 seconds. 

Gradually add powdered sugar, 1 cup at a time, beating on medium-high speed until smooth and desired thickness (for me, this is 4 cups of sugar and about 5-6 total minutes of beating).

Use a knife to spread over cupcakes, or spoon frosting into pastry bag to pipe onto cupcakes.  

Leave a Reply

