Coconut Creme Pies

DSC_0043

I’ve always had a tendency to become what I call ‘temporarily obsessed’ with various things.  I think it began with watching Peter Pan *every* morning at 5am before school in kindergarten.  That reminds me, I should watch that again soon…

I’m temporarily obsessed with coconut.  I bought coconut milk a few months ago, and I couldn’t believe I’d wasted so many years without it.  At Dunkin Donuts, I finally tried a coconut iced coffee… great decision.  And after finding those Hershey’s coconut creme kisses, I’ve been baking more and more with the sweetened flakes. 

DSC_0042

After making Coconut Kiss Cookies, I decided to use the same cookie dough to make creme pies.  Creme pies are something I should make more often.  I always loved those Little Debbie Oatmeal Creme Pies.  Two soft cookies with creamy frosting tucked between them.  And perfectly portable!

Coconut Creme Pies

Cookies

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/4 cups flaked sweetened coconut

Creme Filling

  • 1/3 cup cream cheese, softened
  • 1/2 cup frozen whipped topping, thawed
  • 1/4 cup confectioners’ sugar
  • 1/4 cup flaked sweetened coconut

Heat oven to 350°F.  Line two to three cookie sheets with parchment paper.

In large mixing bowl, beat butter and sugars with electric mixer on medium speed until creamy.  Add egg; beat until combined.

In separate medium mixing bowl, stir baking soda, salt, and flour.  Gradually add dry ingredients to wet ingredients; beat until well mixed.  Stir in coconut.

Drop cookie dough by heaping tablespoonful onto prepared cookie sheets, about two inches apart.  Bake 10 to 12 minutes or until golden brown.  Allow to cool completely.

Meanwhile, prepare creme filling.  In medium mixing bowl, beat cream cheese, whipped topping, confectioners’ sugar, and coconut.  Spread filling between two cooled cookies.

Makes about 1 dozen creme pies.

Leave a Reply

