Coconut Bird’s Nest Cookies

Another week, another Chocolate Chip Thursday!  This week, I’m happy to share with you another guest post.  Now, I *know* I have a tendency to babble about how great each of my guest post bloggers are, and well, today’s no exception.  I’m fairly confident Allie and I are long lost twins (born nearly 3 years apart).  Actually, Allie’s passion for Duke basketball would probably have my own dad wanting to trade me in – dad is a Duke fan amidst an entire state of Orange fans (who, buy the way, were ranked as #3 for next season!)

Okay… cookie time!

***

Easter is just around the corner. Are you ready? If not, don’t worry, I’ve got you covered. I’ve got a cute last minute recipe that is simple, quick and kid-friendly.

Hi I’m Allie and I blog over at Live Laugh Eat. I love to bake, run, photograph food, and ramble about my life.

When Liz asked me for a spring-themed recipe involving chocolate, I was a bit stumped. I mean, I could try and make a chocolate bunny…? I think it’d be easier to buy one though. Then I saw these Reese’s Pieces pastel eggs at the store and knew it was fate. THEN I found a bird’s nest cookie recipe on the M&M’s website and bells started ringing in my head!

IMG_3193

Nest—coconut sugar cookie

Eggs—Reese’s Pieces Pastel Eggs

IMG_3180

The first step is to lightly toast the coconut flakes. Do not, and I repeat, DO NOT check your email during this time. It’s going to do nothing for awhile and then BAM all of a sudden it’s going to get dark…really fast. Trust me, I learned the hard way…

IMG_3153

The recipe is really simple. You roll sugar cookie dough in toasted coconut flakes and press down in the center with your thumb to make a bird’s nest. Then after it’s baked and cooled, you fill the nest with candy coated chocolate eggs. Ta da!

April 113

IMG_3190

Coconut Bird’s Nest Cookies

Slightly adapted from the M&M’s website

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 cups sweetened shredded coconut
  • 1 cup butter, melted
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup white whole wheat flour (or all-purpose flour)
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup Reese’s Pieces eggs or other candy coated chocolates

 

Directions

Preheat oven to 300* F. Toast shredded coconut for ~10 min. or until lightly golden. Stir occasionally to prevent burning. Remove coconut from the oven and set aside. Turn up the oven temperature to 350* F. In a large bowl, beat butter and sugar together until fluffy. Next, beat in egg and vanilla. Add flour and salt and stir until thoroughly combined. Take a spoonful of dough and form a ball. Roll it in toasted coconut. Place on a cookie sheet and press thumb down into the center to form a nest shape. Repeat with the remaining dough, placing cookies 2 inches apart. Bake at 350* F for 12 min. or until golden brown. Cool before filling nest with candy coated chocolates. 

Makes 2 dozen cookies.

***

Judging from recipes like cranberry orange nut bread, pumpkin gingerbread biscotti, and sweet potato breakfast cookies, I knew Allie would have a great recipe up her sleeve! 

I’ll take these cookies over chocolate bunnies any day.  The funny thing is, Allie is allergic to peanuts, but she unselfishly knows how much the rest of us *love* our peanut butter filled candies.  If you need a tasty treat to enjoy this Easter Sunday, give these a try!

Thanks again, Allie!

8 thoughts on “Coconut Bird’s Nest Cookies”

  1. Hi
    I tried your recipe today. I think that there is a typo in the amount for the flour. I baked the first batch of cookies; they came out flat flatter than pancakes. I then looked at the original recipe from the m&M’s website and noticed that it contains 2 cups of flour. I added 1/2 a cup flour to the remaining batter and thankfully they came out looking like bird’s nest and pleasing my 3 year old daughter.

    1. I’m sorry the cookies came out so flat the first go-around! I wish I could tell you what my experience was in making them, but this was actually a guest post recipe, so I’ve never made them. I’m glad you were able to salvage some of them, though!

  2. The same thing happened to me-I wish I had read the comments before trying them. They’ve all gone in the trash, as even after adding flour they just didn’t work out.

    1. What a bummer, Elizabeth! I haven’t made these cookies, since this was a guest post recipe, but I know how a disappointing recipe can be. I’ll have to work on a modification of these. In the meantime, I have a tasty Easter cookie coming up later this week!

  3. We used 2 cups of flour and the recipe worked great. With one cup it is impossible to roll the dough into balls.

    1. Thanks for letting me know! The original recipe wasn’t my own, but I may update the recipe based on your feedback.

Leave a Reply

