Peanut Butter Cherry Thumbprints (Gluten Free)

DSC_0213

Well, I’ll just get right to it here.  This is my first ever gluten free baked good!  I’ve been inspired by many bloggers to dabble in this area, and I am so glad I finally did.  I can’t wait to do more gluten free baking! 

As far as I know, I don’t have a gluten intolerance, but the trend towards gluten free baking is becoming more and more mainstream.  And who knows, maybe eating three gluten free cookies in a row will give me less of a stomach ache.Winking smile

DSC_0215

About six months ago, I purchased a package of peanut flour from Trader Joe’s out of curiosity.  The closest TJ’s is hundred’s of miles away so whenever I’m there, I try to purchase items I can’t find at Wegmans (I know, hard to think you wouldn’t be able to find items in Wegmans).  After letting it sit in my kitchen cabinet all winter, I decided it was finally time to do something with that peanut flour.  So, I made cookies!

Being my first time experimenting with gluten free baking, I wasn’t really sure what to expect.  Actually, I was expecting to have either a rock hard cookie or one that wouldn’t hold its shape.  Happily, neither prediction was true—these cookies are soft and dense, and the peanut flour only intensifies the peanut butter flavor. 

DSC_0216

I placed a frozen dark cherry in the middle of each cookie before baking, because, well, who doesn’t love peanut butter and fruit?  But I’d bet a piece of chocolate or a banana slice would be equally satisfying!

Peanut Butter Cherry Thumbprints (Gluten Free)

Makes 2 dozen cookies

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
  • 2/3 cup light brown sugar, packed
  • 1/2 cup natural peanut butter (smooth or crunchy)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/2 cups peanut flour
  • 3/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. sea salt
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar, for rolling
  • 24 dark cherries (frozen or fresh)

Heat oven to 375 degrees F.  Line two large cookie sheets with parchment paper.

In large mixing bowl, beat butter and sugar on medium speed about 1 minute or until creamy.  Add peanut butter; beat on medium speed until smooth.  Add egg; beat on medium speed until smooth.

In small mixing bowl, stir peanut flour, baking soda, and salt.  Gradually add dry ingredients to wet ingredients, beating on medium speed until well combined. 

Place granulated sugar in shallow dish.  Roll dough into 24 equal sized balls.  For each cookie; roll ball in sugar; set on cookie sheet.  Press one cherry lightly into top.  Bake cookies 12 to 15 minutes or until edges are golden brown.

Leave a Reply

