Whole Wheat Brown Butter Cookies

DSC_0309

Let’s talk about these cookies.  They look pretty simple, right?  Pretty plain.  And that’s just what they are… simple and plain.  But don’t let that fool you.  These are the most oh-my-gosh-these-are-delicious simple and plain cookies you will ever eat. 

DSC_0307

These were actually supposed to have chocolate chips in them, but I was all out.  I was out of eggs, too, so I ran to the store.  I made it home with eggs, but forgot the chocolate chips.  I blame the Skinny Cow ice cream sandwiches in the freezer aisle for distracting me.  Have you tried those?  I can’t decide which one I love more – the strawberry shortcake or cookies ‘n cream.  Yum.

With no chocolate chips, I decided to bake the cookies with no add-ins, but was convinced I’d end up with a “flop” batch of cookies.  I mean…why would a plain old whole wheat butter cookie be delicious? 

Ten minutes later, I declared these the best cookies I’ve tasted in who knows how long.  Maybe ever, but I hate being wrong and/or misleading people, and I know we’ve all eaten a lot of good cookies our lifetime. 

Really though… these have to be a top 10.  Crisp edges, soft and chewy on the inside.  And the brown butter gives these so much flavor that you won’t even know they were made with whole wheat flour.   But since they are made with whole wheat flour, you can have twice as many… because I said so!

DSC_0304

Whole Wheat Browned Butter Cookies

Makes 2 dozen cookies

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) brown butter, softened*
  • 2/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 tbsp. vinegar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 tbsp. vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp. sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour

Heat oven to 400 degrees F.  Line two large cookie sheets with parchment paper.

In large mixing bowl, cream browned butter and sugars.  Add egg and vanilla; beat until fluffy. 

In small mixing bowl, stir salt, baking soda, and whole wheat flour.  Gradually add dry ingredients to wet ingredients, beating on medium until combined. 

Form dough into one-inch balls; set on cookie sheets 2 inches apart.  Bake 7 to 10 minutes or until edges are golden brown.  Cool cookies on wire cooling racks.

*This recipe does not use brown butter in its liquid state.  Instead, once the butter is browned, pour into a glass bowl or plastic container.  Refrigerate overnight to solidify.  Allow to soften before preparing cookie dough.

2 thoughts on “Whole Wheat Brown Butter Cookies”

  1. Hi Liz! I’m excited to be baking a variety of cookies (almost all YOUR recipes!) for the holidays. I have a question before I make this recipe though…the ingredient list calls for 1/2 tbsp of vinegar, which is not mentioned in the instruction list. I just wanted to see when this should be used, as it seems like a mildly unusual ingredient. =) Thank you!

    Tory

    1. Hi Tory! Sorry about that – the vinegar should go in right with the egg and vanilla! And glad you are making a bunch of my cookies 🙂

Leave a Reply

