Basil Roasted Chickpeas

chickpeas1

Woohoo, we’re alive!  I’m glad the world didn’t end on Saturday, because I have a backlog of about 10 recipes to share with you and it’d just be terribly unfortunate if our lives were cut short and you didn’t get to read them. 

Anyway… If you haven’t noticed, I’ve been sharing more than just sugar-laden recipes recently.  Despite what my blog might show, I’d estimate that about 90% of the food I eat is very healthy.  Sure, cupcakes are delicious, but they certainly won’t get you through marathons.  Actually, my mom might disagree with that.  Back in the day, her pre-marathon fuel of choice was a Hostess cherry pie.  Let’s pretend we don’t know that.

Since healthy eating is something I do a lot of, you’ll likely be seeing healthy recipes sprinkled in with all those not-so-health ones.  I promise it’s all delicious, though!  I wouldn’t ever eat anything that wasn’t delicious unless my life or health depended on it. 

chickpeas2

As someone who as always loved to snack on pretzels, crackers and the like, I’m always looking for ways I can create my own salty, crunchy snacks.  If you’ve never tried roasting chickpeas, you should try it very soon.  They get crunchy as they bake, and you can flavor them however you like with herbs and spices.

chickpeas3

If snacking on roasted chickpeas isn’t your thing, toss them on top of a salad like I did—they’re a nutritious replacement for croutons!

Basil Roasted Chickpeas

  • 1 can (15 oz) chickpeas (also known as garbanzo beans)
  • 2 tsp. fresh chopped basil
  • 1/4 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1 tsp. sea salt
  • 1 tbsp. canola or olive oil

Heat oven to 400 degrees F.  Rinse and drain chickpeas; pat dry. 

In small mixing bowl, stir basil, garlic powder, sea salt and oil with wire whisk.  Add chickpeas; toss until well coated.

Spread chickpeas onto large baking sheet lined with parchment paper.  Bake 35 to 40 minutes or until golden brown and crisp.  Stir chickpeas every 10 minutes while baking.

2 thoughts on “Basil Roasted Chickpeas”

  1. Ever make your own hummus? This recipe added to some CHO (plain) with olive oil in a food processor sounds like something I must try, I’ve been experimenting with lots of different hummus recipes lately (garlic, roasted red pepper, & sun dried tomato varieties) but this with fresh basil might just be the best one yet. Don’t you love it when you find great ideas like this one that spark even more options! I really enjoy your recipes, thanks! This chickpea salad photo looks scrumptious!

    1. I love the idea for a basil roasted hummus! My kitchen belongings are currently all packed up (for my move) but once everything is back out and unpacked, I will definitely have to try that!

Leave a Reply

