Berry Chambord Muffins

berry muffin 2

Of all holidays, I think the 4th of July is the one that sneaks up on me most.  In the fall, days seem to move at a turtle’s pace as I count down the days to Thanksgiving and Christmas.  In the spring, I wait months for Memorial Day, because well, we can’t possibly get snow in NY after the last Monday in May.  And then there’s the 4th… here and gone before I know it!  So this year, I’m getting an early start – with patriotic berry chambord muffins!

Sweet treats are no stranger to the 4th of July, but they’re usually eaten after lunch or dinner in the form of flag cakes or strawberry shortcake.  With breakfast being one of my favorite meals of the day, I figure I might as well celebrate our independence all day long, starting with breakfast.

berry muffin 3

Oh, and since it is a holiday and all, I couldn’t help myself from kicking these muffins up a notch with Chambord.  Chambord is a black raspberry liqueur, and in addition to be a delicious addition to beverages, it gives great flavor to baked goods and frostings as well (if you like Chambord, you might want to check out these brownie balls or cake balls). 

berry muffin 1

Berry Chambord Muffins

Makes 12 muffins

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/3 cup Chambord liqueur
  • 2/3 cup milk
  • 3 1/2 tbsp. agave nectar
  • 2 cups whole wheat (or all-purpose) flour
  • 3 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 cup fresh blueberries
  • 1/2 cup fresh sliced strawberries

Heat oven to 400 degrees F.  Spray bottom of 12 muffin cups with nonstick cooking spray.

In large mixing bowl, whisk butter, egg, Chambord, milk, and agave until well combined.  Gradually add flour, baking powder, and salt, stirring until just combined.  Fold in blueberries and strawberries.

Spread batter evenly into prepared muffin cups.  If desired, top each muffin with additional strawberry slices.  Bake 20 to 25 minutes or until edges are golden brown and inserted toothpick comes out clean.  Allow to cool 10 minutes before removing muffins. 

One thought on “Berry Chambord Muffins”

  1. OH MY GOSH…I HAVE to make these for my Mom. She is OBSESSED with chambord. She had it for the first time the morning of my wedding..and let's just say she had a really good time 😉

Leave a Reply

