Berry White Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

cran white chip cookie 3

I’m afraid I’ve got some bad news.  See, I’ve dreamed of going to the Olympics (as a spectator) for years.  Walking through the Olympic village, watching USA win a swimming relay, surrounding myself with people from all over the world… all the good stuff.  When Chicago lost the 2016 bid last year, my brother and I decided London 2012 was our games to spectate. 

With tickets set to go on sale this week, I assumed I’d have plans to see Michael Phelps continue down his record-breaking path while stuffing myself with scones and fish & chips by week’s end.  Unfortunately, hundreds of others would like to do the same.  And thus, my brother and I remain ticketless. 

We’re not giving up on our London 2012 dreams just yet.  We still have time to fine-tune our badminton skills. Or maybe we could become the first-ever brother-sister synchronized swimming duo?  Not sure I could handle the nose plugs though…

Maybe I can bake my way into the Olympics. “I’ll trade you two dozen red, white and blue cookies for two tickets a swimming finals session.”  🙂

cran white chip cookie 1

These aren’t exactly innovative in the world of cookies, but I can assure you’re they’re mighty tasty.  You can thank the brown butter for that.  The spices help too.  And white chocolate chips have never done wrong in my eyes.

Still need a good recipe for the holiday weekend?  Use half dried cranberries and dried blueberries in this recipe, and you’ll have yourself a nice red, white, and blue cookie! 

cran white chip cookie 2

Berry White Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Makes about 4 dozen cookies

  • 1 cup brown butter
  • 1 3/4 cup sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. sea salt
  • 1 1/4 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. ground clove
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 1/2 cups rolled oats
  • 1 cup dried cranberries or blueberries
  • 1 cup white chocolate chips

Heat oven to 400 degrees F.  Line large cookie sheets with parchment paper.

In large mixing bowl, beat butter and sugar until creamy.  Add eggs and vanilla; beat until well blended.

In separate large mixing bowl, stir baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, clove, flour, and oats.  Gradually add dry ingredients to wet ingredients, beating with electric mixer until combined.  Fold in berries and white chocolate chips.

Drop cookie dough by rounded tablespoon onto prepared cookie sheets.  Bake 10 to 12 minutes or until edges are light golden brown.  Allow to cool on pan 2 minutes; transfer to cooling racks to cool completely. 

One thought on “Berry White Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies”

  1. Brown butter?? I've never heard of that. but it sounds interesting 🙂 Those cookies look so good- I love the addition of cranberries! Dried cranberries are so good…and add a unique taste to cookies. 🙂

    Ugh, that sucks about the tickets 😦 Could you maybe find them on Ebay? Or maybe some more will open up when it gets closer??

Leave a Reply

