Peachy Brown Butter Blondies

DSC_0556

One of the neatest things about consuming an abundance of fresh fruit is that you could literally wake up from a deep, months-long sleep, and know what time of year it is based on the plate in front of you.  Apples?  You know the leaves are falling. Rhubarb (bleh) means it must be spring.  And peaches tell us the days are long! 

After blackberries, peaches might be my favorite fruit.  Ask me this in three months and I’ll tell you apples, silly!  Sometimes I wish I lived in the South just so I could have the best ripe peaches right in my own backyard.  I’m pretty sure I’d go Bubba Gump on peaches.

DSC_0561

Since peaches are pretty cheap at the store right now, and since I can’t go more than 72 hours without baking something, I made these peachy brown butter blondies last week.  Well, I think they’re blondies.  Are blondies soft?  Because these are really soft, and dense too.  And since I’ve been experimenting with my diet recently, they’re also free of gluten, but you’d never know!

Peachy Brown Butter Blondies

Makes 12

  • 1 stick unsalted butter, browned and cooled
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. guar gum
  • 1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg
  • 1 cup gluten free all-purpose flour
  • 2 small peaches, peeled and diced

Heat oven to 350 degrees F.  Spray an 8-inch square pan with nonstick cooking spray.

In large mixing bowl, stir butter, sugars, and egg until well blended.  Add baking soda, salt, guar gum, and nutmeg; mix well.  Stir in flour until well blended.  Fold in peaches.

Spread batter into prepared pan.  Bake 35 to 40 minutes or until edges are golden brown and toothpick inserted in center comes out nearly clean.  Cool completely before cutting into bars.

Leave a Reply

