Grilled Mango Margherita Pizza

mango margherita pizza

When it comes to pizza, I can be a bit picky.  The crust is too thick, the crust is too thin.  Why are there so many chunks in this sauce?  There’s no way this is real mozzarella cheese.  And where is some fresh basil when you need it?  I guess one year living in the big apple is all you need to dub yourself a pizza snob.

My favorite pizza is margherita pizza, hands down.  There’s just nothing better than fresh mozzarella, vine-ripened tomatoes, and fresh chopped basil.  Although buttery garlic pizza with caramelized onions and sundried tomatoes can put up a good fight. 

mango margherita pizza 3

Last week when Maria from Two Peas & Their Pod made a pizza with peaches, my margherita pizza-loving mind starting spinning with thoughts of sweet cheesy deliciousness.  Peaches sounded lovely, and I gave plums a thought as well, but eventually settled on mango.  It’s my fruit of the year, for sure.

mango margherita pizza 5

I’m sure you think I’ve fallen off my rocker with this Italian-meets-Caribbean pizza, but you’ve gotta trust me.  Since the tomatoes themselves already lend the pizza a sweet flavor, a bite of mango just gives the pizza an extra punch of sweetness.  Before you know it, you’ll be taking your last bite, thinking I think I like what is going on here?!

mango margherita pizza 2

Grilled Mango Margherita Pizza

Makes personal pizzas

  • 2 small whole wheat (or white) flatbreads
  • 3-4 oz. fresh mozzarella
  • 1 roma tomato, sliced thin
  • 1/2 cup diced mango
  • 3-4 tbsp. fresh chopped basil

Heat grill on low.  Prep pizzas.  Grill pizzas 6 to 8 minutes or until flatbread is lightly charred underneath and cheese is melted. 

One thought on “Grilled Mango Margherita Pizza”

Leave a Reply

