Frozen Cake Batter Pops

frozen cake batter pop

Here, let me distract you from the fact that it’s Monday.

I ran twelve miles on Saturday, and half way through, as I choked down a Gu energy gel that I had tucked away in my sports bra to fuel me through my run, I wished so badly that I had packed one of these frozen cake batter pops instead.   I might be crazy for running twelve miles at seven in the morning on a Saturday, but if there’s a promise of frozen cake batter on a stick midway through a run, I’ll run as far as I need to!  Next time, I guess.

frozen cake batter pop 2

Back to the pops.  They look like cake pops, and the assembly of them is quite reminiscent as well.  But there’s no oven involved; no crumbling of a cake; no mixing with frosting.  Who has time for that? 

Quite simply, all that stands between you and frozen cake batter pops is cake mix and milk.  Just mix, roll, freeze, dunk, and refreeze.  Ready, go!

Frozen Cake Batter Pops

Makes about 16

  • 2 cups boxed cake mix (I used Funfetti)
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • Candy melts
  • Lollipop sticks

Line a cookie sheet or cake pan with parchment paper.

Beat cake mix and milk with electric mixer until well combined.  Form dough into one-inch balls.  Set onto parchment paper-lined pan.  Freeze at least 12 hours.

Insert lollipop stick into center of each frozen cake ball.  Microwave candy melts per package directions.  Carefully dunk each cake ball into melted candy.  Stick into styrofoam block while finishing remaining pops.  Freeze pops (on styrofoam block) 15 to 20 minutes to set completely.

Leave a Reply

