Hurricane (Irene) Smoothie

irene smoothie 4

Dear Irene,

Hi!  My name is Little Bitty, and I bake.  If I’d not been so lazy known about you sooner I’d have made you a cake, but instead I made you this smoothie. 

I think you and I could be great friends, Irene.  Have I ever mentioned my deep fascination with extreme weather?  I’m not ashamed to say that my favorite channel as a fourth grader was… The Weather Channel.  When the movie Twister came out, I wanted to be like Helen Hunt, chasing tornadoes across the Midwest.  And my “reach” bucket list includes riding in a hurricane hunter plane.  I know.  I’m the coolest girl you know.

Oh!  Irene, you should know that I’m a runner.  So on Saturday, as you were barreling up the Eastern Seaboard, I was trotting my way through a sixteen mile run.  I need to work on my endurance if we’re going to be friends.  I’m trying!

irene smoothie 3

You’d probably agree that a great travail deserves a refreshing reward.  Like a smoothie.  Not just any smoothie – one that pays homage to your monstrous trek from all the way from the tropics (bananas, mango) to New England (blueberries). 

irene smoothie 2

Oh, I hope you don’t have a lactose intolerance, because I added Greek yogurt to thicken things up.  And yes, I’m aware of the fact that my hands need some moisturizing.  Maybe we can take a trip to the spa when you finish your trip?

irene smoothie 1

Wait!  Don’t forget this hat!  Hmm, I’m not sure that hat’s going to stay on with those gusty winds you brought with you.  But it sure is cute!

Well, enjoy, Irene!  Hope we meet soon.  Stay strong!

Your weather-loving (new) BFF,

Liz

Hurricane Irene Smoothies

A refreshing, fruity smoothie to honor the hurricane that trekked up the eastern seaboard in August 2011.  If you don’t have coconut oil, add a few tablespoons of unsweetened coconut flakes instead.

Makes 1 smoothie

Prep time: 5 minutes

  • 1 large frozen banana, sliced
  • 1 large mango, peeled and sliced
  • 1/2 cup frozen blueberries
  • 1/3 cup plain Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 tsp. coconut oil

Place all the ingredients in a blender or food processor and blend until smooth. 

Leave a Reply

