Chewy Almond Butter Chocolate Chip Bars

DSC_0849

With tomorrow being the first day of fall, I think the change of seasons calls for a bit of a celebration.  No, not with pumpkin (though there will be plenty of that)… whaddaya say we bring back Chocolate Chip Thursday?!

Party smile

Here’s the thing.  After weeks on end of chocolate chips earlier this year, I got burnt out.  It was summer, I was hot, and just needed a little time away from the delightful little morsels.  But you know what they say, absence makes the heart grow fonder… chocolate chips included!

Since I’m all about flexibility and spontaneity lately – largely in part to my marathon training without a plan – I’m not promising weekly chocolate chip Thursdays.  They’ll happen when they happen.  And when they happen, they’ll be good.

DSC_0856

I’ve got just recipe to welcome you back to CCT.  These bars are seriously some of the best I’ve ever made.  Whenever I bake something with the intention posting the recipe, I try to jot down a few notes about how it tastes right away.  My (only) notes from these bars were “OMGGG so chewy and crisp.”  Yep, that explains them to a T!

DSC_0845

Last week I received a package of Uncle Sam cereals from Attune.  I ate three delicious bowls of the honey almond variety for breakfast at HLS last month, so I was excited to receive an entire package of cereal to have fun with. 

Fun, you say?  Well, rather than pour myself a bowl of cereal as any normal person would do, I tore open a box and got baking.  What can I say, I look at just about every food and try to figure out what I could bake with it.  Uncle Sam cereal passed with flying colors! 

I omitted flour in favor of the cereal, and the result was a super chewy, crispy, nutty chocolate chip bar.  Warning: these will go fast!

DSC_0853

Chewy Almond Butter Chocolate Chip Bars

Wholesome almond butter chocolate chip bars with a secret ingredient (cereal!) make them incredibly chewy and crisp.

Makes 20 bars

Prep time: 15 minutes

Cook time: 30 minutes

  • 1 cup almond butter (plus additional for spreading)
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 cups Uncle Sam Original cereal
  • 1 1/3 cups semisweet chocolate chips

Heat the oven to 350 degress F.  Spray a 9-inch square baking dish with nonstick cooking spray.

In a large mixing bowl, beat the almond butter and sugar with an electric mixer on medium until smooth.  Add the eggs; beat until mixed.  Add the cinnamon, nutmeg, baking soda, and salt; beat until mixed. 

Fold in the cereal and chocolate chips with a wooden spoon or rubber spatula.  Press the cookie dough into the prepared pan.  Bake 25 to 30 minutes or until the edges are golden brown and a toothpick inserted in the center of the pan comes out nearly clean.  Allow to cool at least 15 minutes before cutting into bars.  Spread warm bars with almond butter, if desired.

Leave a Reply

