Chocolate Chip Pancake Cookies

image

One of my favorite things about baking so much is being able to share what I make with others.  Sure, I enjoy the sweet treats I make, but it’s so much more fun to see others enjoy them!  Especially when they could really use a pick-me-up. 

My brother – who was hit by a truck while cycling about six months ago – had knee surgery last week and will be on crutches for the next couple months.  For someone with an extremely active lifestyle, this can be pretty, well… depressing.  So what what did I do?  Sent him cookies, of course! 

imageLet’s say you’re going to make chocolate chip pancakes.  You’d need pancake mix, chocolate chips, butter and syrup, right?  So, let’s say you’re about to make pancakes and then you remember you wanted to make cookies for your brother.  No need to grab the flour and sugar – you can make chocolate chip pancake cookies!

You heard that right.  The kitchen legitimately smelled like chocolate chip pancakes after I baked these.  And warm out of the oven, it’s seriously as if you’re eating a chocolate chip pancake gone cookie.  If it weren’t for the fact that I had to ship these off to my brother, I’d totally have dunked these into a little dish of maple syrup!

imageChocolate Chip Pancake Cookies

A crowd-pleasing weekend pancake breakfast morphs itself into subtly sweet chocolate chip cookies with a hint of maple flavor.

Makes 1 dozen

Prep time: 10 minutes

Cook time: 15 minutes

  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
  • 2 tablespoons agave nectar
  • 1/2 cup light maple syrup
  • 1 1/2 cups “just add water” pancake mix
  • 1/3 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Heat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Line a large cookie sheet with parchment paper.

In a large mixing bowl, stir the butter, agave, and syrup until smooth.  Add the pancake mix and stir until mixed well.  Fold in the chocolate chips.

Drop the cookie dough by rounded tablespoon onto the prepared cookie sheet.  Bake about 15 minutes or until edges are light golden brown.  Allow the cookies to cool about 2 minutes, then transfer paper to wire racks to cool completely.

22 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Pancake Cookies”

  1. Thanks for this cool recipe ♥ they are sweet…. but I think the chocolate chip are too sweet maybe if they are cut smaller or just do without. Super nice recipe if thats all you got and your kid wants some cookies now.

  2. Had bought a big bag of Pancake Mix from Costco. This recipe was super simple and easy to make cookies with my three year old. We actually left out the agave syrup and chocolate chips (didn’t have either). The cookies came out sweet and yummy.

    Thank you =)

  3. Super delicious. I just made a double batch and they are awesome. Omitted the agave as I do not have any in the house and they are just perfectly sweet. My 2yo, 5yo, and 70yo father are fans, as well as myself! Thanks!

  4. I am baking you recipe tonight and I was wondering, you said I need “just add water” pancake mix, but, does it work with any pacake mix?, I have a pancake mix that needs eggs, butter, etc…does is it good for the cookies?

    1. Hi Paulina – since the recipe calls for the “just add water” pancake mix in its dry form, I’m not sure how a regular pancake mix would work. Give it a try though!

      1. Sorry – meant to say – you might need to add an extra egg white, since “just add water” mixes typically have some sort of dried egg product in them.

  5. What if you don’t have butter? Does it make them any better or does it interfere with the cooking time or anything like that. I don’t want my cookies looking like a slop because these look delicious.

    1. You definitely need the butter, or at the very least, something in its place. I would guess that replacing the butter with oil, or yogurt might still work, but I can’t guarantee it. Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

