Apple & Chicken Sausage Chili

apple chili

I’m not sure how the weather is where you are, but here in Central NY, fall has barged in like it’s no one’s business.  Saturday we had temperatures in the 40s, sustained winds at 30mph, and non-stop drizzle.  It was bad enough looking at it from inside a warm house, but it was another thing to battle it during a sixteen mile run.  Woof…  

In my mind, dreary fall weather calls for a few things: lots of hot coffee, hoodies and slipper boots, warm dinners, and candy corn.  Nothing warms the soul like candy corn, right?  😉 

Back to the warm dinners part.  I pretty much eat sandwiches and salads for dinner all summer long, but as soon as the weather turns, all I want is warm bowls of pasta, soup or chili.  Last week I used some of the apples I had picked to make a nontraditional chili of sorts – an apple and chicken sausage chili!

apple chili 2

All I did was add two chopped Cortland apples to an otherwise smoky, spicy chili.  It still was a smoky, spicy chili, but the apples gave it just a touch of sweetness in addition to sneaking in some nutrients.  I swear, all my body mind wants lately is candy corn and peanut butter sandwiches.  I’m five years old.

If like me you find yourself with more apples than you know what to do with this time of year, and you know you shouldn’t make apple crisp everyday, give this chili a try!

apple chili spoon

Apple & Chicken Sausage Chili

A hearty, smoky sausage chili with just a touch of sweetness from cooked apples.  No apples on hand?  Try pears!

Serves 4

  • 2 tablespoons ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tablespoon butter
  • 2 medium apples, peeled and chopped
  • 1 medium green bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 small red onion, diced
  • 2 cups reduced sodium chicken broth
  • 2 fully cooked chicken sausages, chopped (I used Bilinski sweet apple)
  • 1 can (16-ounce) pinto or cannelini beans, rinsed and drained
  • Shredded parmesan cheese

Mix the cumin, black pepper, and flour in a small bowl; set aside.

In a large Dutch oven or pot, melt the butter over medium heat.  Add the apples, pepper, and onion; cook about 5 minutes or until apples are tender. 

Add the chicken broth and mixed spices; bring to a boil over medium heat, then reduce the heat low.  Add the chicken sausage and beans; simmer covered about 10 to 15 minutes or until sausage is heated through. 

Serve with shredded parmesan or asiago cheese.

4 thoughts on “Apple & Chicken Sausage Chili”

  1. Great recipe! Everyone loved it (even though I subbed in a yellow bell pepper for the green), including my finicky Dad. I would definitely make it again, and next time I’ll probably sauté the chicken sausage first, as I prefer it browned/crispier! All in all a perfect accompaniment to a chilly, rainy fall day 🙂

    1. I’m so glad you tried it, and that it was a hit, Casie! I like the idea of sauteing the sausage first, I like it crispy too!

Leave a Reply

