Frozen Candy Corn Mousse

candy corn ice cream 3

It’s Thursday and there are no chocolate chips here for you.  But, dare I say I have something better to share?!

You guys are probably thinking all I eat is candy corn in the weeks leading up to Halloween.  Rightfully so! 😉  I thought I’d share my secrets to not becoming overweight during candy corn season…

  • Although it’s on shelves by August, I don’t buy candy corn until the end of September.  That gives me a solid six or so weeks to enjoy it all the time!
  • I usually snack on pretzels or an apple between meals, so in October, I just swap the usual snacks for candy corn.  Who needs fruit? 😉
  • I only eat it at night.  That’s a lie!  I actually eat candy corn in the morning too.  Maybe that’s a trick itself – small portions throughout the day.
  • I coincidentally keep training for marathons during candy corn seasonHmm, note to self: find a marathon to run after Easter – Peeps for running fuel!

Have you ever let candy corn dissolve in liquid?  That’s probably a silly question, I’m sure most people would never think to do that.  Well, turns out you can infuse candy corn into all sorts of things.  Vodka and heavy cream (not together) are my favorite, but when you want something a bit more forgiving, grab a can of evaporated milk and make frozen candy corn mousse!

candy corn sherbet

It really can’t get much simpler.  All you do is let candy corn dissolve in the evaporated milk overnight.  The next day, you whip it like crazy and stick it in the freezer.  After a couple hours, it’ll remind you of floam (remember that?!), and after that, it’ll turn to the sweet and delicious mousse! 

If you know what’s good for you, you’ll top off a bowl of it with more candy corn.

candy corn ice cream

Frozen Candy Corn Mousse

Trying to figure out what to do with all that candy corn?  Grab a can of evaporated milk and make this sweet, light candy corn mousse.

Makes 5-6 cups

Prep time: 10 minutes

Total time: 18-24 hours

  • 1 cup candy corn
  • 1 (12-ounce) can evaporated milk

In a small (2-cup) container with cover, combine the candy corn and evaporated milk.  Cover and refrigerate overnight, stirring occasionally, until candy corn dissolves.

Next day:  Freeze the candy corn mixture for 30 minutes to chill well.  Pour the mixture into a large mixing bowl, and beat with an electric mixer on high speed about 5 minutes or until the mixture is double to triple its original volume.  Pour the mixture into a large plastic container; cover and freeze at least 6 hours, or until desired firmness.

4 thoughts on “Frozen Candy Corn Mousse”

  1. i am in LOVE with candy corn!!! I love all the different varieties/flavors during fall….like candy apple, caramel, chocolate!! MMMmMMmm!!
    Can you make this recipe using fat free evaporated milk?

    1. Oh yeah, I’m in love with candy corn too — good thing there’s plenty for all of us! 🙂 I bet you could definitely make this with fat free evap milk!

Leave a Reply

