Brownie Batter Truffles

Happy day-after-Sunday!  Sounds better than that other word, right?

I hope you had a good weekend.  My surgery-recovering brother was in town for the weekend.  He’s on crutches right now, and let met tell you, if you think people on crutches aren’t agile, my brother will make you think again.  He moves quicker than most can walk!  If there were a crutching championships, he would definitely be a contender…

You know what I’d love to be a contender in?  The cake and brownie batter championships.  I can’t seem to stop making random treats with boxed cake and brownie mixes!  These latest brownie batter truffles are one of my best yet, I think.

I’ve never been a huge brownie person. I know I shouldn’t say that out loud, but it’s the truth.  But I do love brownie batter.  I remember in high school my friends and I would whip up a bowl of (eggless) brownie batter and just eat the whole bowl.  I’m still waiting for that sixteen year old metabolism to come back.  Maybe a marathon training appetite would suffice?

Since we’re only two weeks out (?!) from Halloween, I dressed my brownie batter truffles for the occasion.  The best part about that is the fact that since Halloween is spooky, you don’t have to do everything in your power to have the perfect “dip” when coating your truffles — go ahead and let them be messy! 😉

These truffles have no secrets – they taste just like what you’d think — brownie batter.  Since they’re are so quick and simple, I may make them around the holidays, too!  Maybe a mint chocolate version.  Ohh, candy canes!  Mmm!

[print_this]

Brownie Batter Truffles

Do you always find yourself wanting to steal a few bites of batter when baking brownies?  Skip the fuss of baking and make simple, indulgent brownie batter truffles!

Makes 2 dozen

Cook time: n/a

Prep time: 20 minutes

  • 2 cups brownie mix
  • 3 tablespoons milk, cream, or half and half
  • Candy melts
  • Sprinkles
In a medium mixing bowl, stir the brownie mix and milk until mixed well.  Roll the brownie batter into 1-inch balls; place in a sealed container and refrigerate at least two hours.
Line a flat surface (a counter or baking sheet work well) with wax paper.  Melt the candy melts according to the package instructions.
Use a spoon to dunk each truffle into the melted candy; immediately set onto wax paper and decorate with sprinkles.  Allow to dry before refrigerating in airtight container.
[/print_this]
15 thoughts on “Brownie Batter Truffles”

  1. LOVE the new look!! I’m sure that I am SUPER late to telling you- but your posts have not been coming to my Google reader for some reason..? 😦 I was bummed, so I decided to check & see if you had any postings..and low & behold, you did! YAY! 😀 I’m going to unsubscribe & then re-subscribe again to see if that fixes things! I sure hope so!! 🙂

  2. So I understand correctly… there is NO baking, right? you just take the mix out of the box & add the milk, & freeze… that simple?

    1. Yep, no baking necessary! And you don’t even need to freeze them – fridge works fine too! But freeze if you’re in a hurry to eat them 😉

  3. These were GREAT and easy to make! My batch only made 7 – yikes I guess I ate more than I thought while rolling the balls. I put mine on lollipop sticks and added candy eye balls.

Leave a Reply

