Candy Corn Macadamia Nut Blondies and Odwalla Bars Giveaway!

You didn’t think I was going to let Halloween go by without another candy corn recipe, did you?  Come on, you should know me better than that!  I’m actually trying to decide whether or not I’m going to stick a few candy corns in my pocket when I run my marathon in a couple weeks.  Or maybe some Twizzlers.  Something fun to keep my mind off the fact that I’m running 26 miles.  Any suggestions?

These candy corn macadamia nut blondies are sort of a cross between my candy corn white chocolate chip cookies and double white chocolate chip bars.  I actually thought about making these for about two weeks before I actually got around to making them.  Don’t make that same mistake!   The recipe couldn’t be more simple!  Which means you’ve got no excuse not to make them for your Halloween shindigs next week.

If you can, I recommend using salted macadamia nuts – combined with the candy corn, they give the bars a sweet ‘n salty taste that we all know and love.

{{Giveaway}}

Speaking of sweet ‘n salty bars with white chocolate and macadamia nuts, have you seen these?

Odwalla White Chocolate Macadamia bars!  This is Odwalla’s newest bar, “made with hearty organic oats and 32 percent organic ingredients.”  The company sent me some of the bars to about a month ago (I’ve selfishly waited to mention them until I shared today’s recipe).  They’ve made the perfect mid-day snack, packing a lot of good-for-you ingredients while tasting like a treat!  Maybe not quite as treat-like as today’s recipe, but you can’t win ’em all, right?!

Lucky for you, Odwalla has offered to let one Little Bitty Bakes reader receive a special Odwalla Chocolate Chip package in honor of Chocolate Chip Thursday!  The case will include its new White Chocolate Macadamia bars, as well as other yummy chocolate chip bars like the Dark Chocolate Chip Walnut fiber bar, Chocolate Chip Peanut bar and Chocolate Chip Trail Mix bar.

To enter:

1.  Tell me: if you could create your own snack bar, what would it be?  

2.  Follow @LBBakes on Twitter and leave a comment (if you already follow me, just let me know!) 

3.  Like Odwalla on Facebook or follow them on Twitter and leave a comment letting me know you did (if you already do, just let me know!)

The giveaway will run through next Wednesday, October 26th, 2011.  Stop by for next week’s Chocolate Chip Thursday on the 27th and I’ll let you know the lucky winner!  In the meantime, go bake a batch of these blondies! 😉

[print_this]Candy Corn Macadamia Nut Blondies

Cook time: 25 minutes

Prep time: 15 minutes

Makes about 16 bars

  • 1 12-ounce package white chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup butter or margarine, softened
  • 1 14-ounce can sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup candy corn
  • 1 cup macadamia nuts, roughly chopped

Heat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Line a 9-inch square baking pan with parchment paper, then lightly spray the parchment paper with non-stick cooking spray.

In a medium saucepan, melt the white chocolate chips and butter over low heat, stirring constantly, until smooth.

Remove from heat and stir in the condensed milk until smooth.  Add the vanilla and flour; mix well.  Fold in the candy corn and macadamia nuts.

Spread into the pan and bake 20 to 25 minutes or until the edges are golden brown.  Allow to cool completely before cutting into bars.

[/print_this]

37 thoughts on “Candy Corn Macadamia Nut Blondies and Odwalla Bars Giveaway!”

  1. I think I’d make a milk and cookies snack bar! It’d be very gooey (not crispy) and have pieces of sugar cookie and icing swirls throughout and sugar crystals on top.

  2. If I could make my own snack bar it would definitely include lots of peanut butter, some toffee bits, and maybe some oats for a bit of healthy-ness 🙂

  3. if i could re-recreate my own snack bar it would probably have to be a dark chocolate pretzel bar i had once (a freebee from HLS) it was so good!

    1. Hmm, I may need to put Richmond on my short list of marathons to think about! 😉 I would probably grab anything with sugar at mile 22.

    1. Wow, do you really?! That’s so ambitious of you! I’ve made granola bars a few times and it’s so easy, but I always seem to forget that it is easy!

  4. I have a basic granola bar recipe and I play around with the additions (nuts, fruit, etc.). My favorite combo so far has been cashews with butterscotch chips. Yum!

  5. Hmm. I’ve been really into putting pretzels in baked goods lately. It’s a genius combination. I think it would be cool to make an chocolate black bean energy bar (it sounds weird, but you cant even taste the beans!) with oats and pretzels and peanuts. Yum!

    1. Mmm, yes I love pretzels and chocolate!

      Black bean – very interesting – I have heard of black bean brownies, so this makes sense… I think you should probably take that idea and run with it!!

  6. I cannot wait until I get home to make these! My fiance has a special place in his heart for Candy Corn, and I have a special place in my heart for any kind of brownies…so together I’m sure we’re going to LOVE this receipe

  7. For my own bar I’d love something with chocolate, peanuts, pretzels, and caramel! Yum yum yum! I hope I win-I follow both you and odwalla on twitter already 🙂

  8. FYI, before yesterday, I had never tried candy corn. I thought it was probably gross, but seeing all of your candy corn loving posts and having a bag sitting in my living room, I decided to try it. And… now I am hooked!! I think I do need to try this recipe now 🙂

    1. I’m glad you finally tried candy and saw how good it is! I’m actually really glad it’s just a seasonal thing, because a month or so of it is probably plenty for me and my teeth 😉

  9. I LOVE candy corn! I have been avoiding it at the stores (I can’t be trusted to eat just a few), but I may have to go stalk down some 50% off candy corn now that I’ve seen this recipe!

Leave a Reply

