Pumpkin Coconut Macaroons

Hey guys!  Thanks so much for your kind comments from my marathon recap post — I appreciate it!

You know what one of the best things about running a marathon is?  Feeling completely okay about doing no exercise whatsoever.  I was actually most active this week on Monday, the day after the marathon.  For some reason I woke up and rode the exercise bike at the hotel fitness center and then walked around NYC all morning long.  By Monday afternoon my feet reminded me that I had in fact ran a marathon the day before, and I’ve now spent the past few days being completely lazy. 🙂

Since my mind has been all-things-marathon the past week or so, I was surprised to look at the calendar at work yesterday and realize that Thanksgiving is two weeks from today!  I need to think of some fun Thanksgiving recipes quickly.  Any ideas for desserts or side dishes?  Share ’em if you’ve got ’em!

So, I know cookies aren’t exactly a Thanksgiving sort of thing (maybe they would be if I tossed them in a pie shell?).  But I’m pretty sure if you put these pumpkin coconut macaroons on the table at Thanksgiving dinner, you’d have a lot of happy campers.  Who needs dinner rolls when you have cookies?

I actually made these cookies over a month ago when I drove down to visit Julie in Ithaca.  I have no idea why I thought pumpkin and coconut might be a good combination.  But I love pumpkin and I love coconut so I thought, “hmm…” and then these cookies were here.  And they were pretty darn good.  That’s all I have to say about that.

[print_this]Pumpkin Coconut Macaroons

Like pumpkin and coconut?  These soft, moist, and chewy macaroons will be your new favorite holiday cookie!

Makes about 2 dozen cookies

Prep time: 10 minutes

Cook time: 40-50 minutes (20-25 minutes per cookie sheet)

  • 1 can sweetened condensed milk
  • 1/2 cup canned pumpkin (not pumpkin pie mix)
  • 2 cups unsweetened flaked coconut
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 large egg whites

Heat the oven to 325 degrees F.  Line two large cookie sheets with parchment paper.

In a large mixing bowl, stir the sweetened condensed milk, pumpkin, coconut, nutmeg, cinnamon, and salt until mixed well.

In a separate small mixing bowl, whip the egg whites until soft peaks form.  Fold the egg whites into the pumpkin mixture until just mixed.

Drop the dough by rounded tablespoonful onto the cookie sheets, about two inches apart.  Bake 20 to 25 minutes or until edges are golden brown.  Allow to cool on pan 5 minutes, then transfer to wire racks to cool completely.[/print_this]

16 thoughts on “Pumpkin Coconut Macaroons”

    1. I know… I can’t stop making pumpkin cookies this year! Good thing it’s almost Thanksgiving… then it’s Christmas time, and I shift to anything cookies 🙂

      PS – I finally bought a doughnut pan yesterday!

  1. Is this recipe missing flour?? Mine did not rise, and stuck to the wax paper, and started to burn on the bottoms, with 7 min left;/

    1. Hi Rachel – No, the recipe doesn’t call for flour. Did you bake the cookies on wax paper? That might be the problem, because wax paper doesn’t hold up well in heat. If I were you I would try again with parchment paper (or just coat the pan with nonstick cooking spray). Best of luck!

      1. Yes, wax paper. (On the box it said it was great for the oven). I put the first few on one cookie sheet on plain wax paper, the next round I greased the wax paper with coconut oil, and the last bit I used foil, greased. They all stuck but not as bad as the first round. The taste was great, but I guess I just don’t have that special touch 😉

Leave a Reply

