Pumpkin Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Bars & Pumpkin Spice Cool Whip

Do you like Cool Whip?  I feel like it’s one of those things you either love or hate.  I’m waaaayyy over on the love side of that scale of extremes.  In fact, I love it so much that the other day while I was aqua jogging, I caught myself thinking about how the next time I run a marathon, I want to eat an entire tub of Cool Whip afterwards.  I bet all you Cool Whip haters are cringing at that one!  Yum. 🙂

Hey, does anyone know of any stats on Cool Whip consumption during the holidays?  Because I was so ready to share some random fact like “90% of Cool Whip is consumed at Thanksgiving and Christmas” and I was really upset that Google turned up nothing.  Maybe I’ll conduct my own Cool Whip consumer poll. #researchgeek

Where is this going?

Holidays.  Food.  Pie.  Cool Whip.  That’s where this is going.

A week from today (!!), you’re going to be sitting down to Thanksgiving dinner.  And just when you thought you can’t possible fit any more food in your stomach, you’ll see dessert.  And you know you’ll make room for it.  And just before you take a bite of that slice (or two) of pie, you’re going to want to top it with something.  How about topping it with jazzed up Cool Whip?

When I made these pumpkin oatmeal chocolate chip bar thingys the other day, I felt like they needed a little something.  By now, you know what I grabbed — Cool Whip!  Mmhmm.

But!  In one amazing, simple step, I folded pumpkin butter into the Cool Whip.  Pumpkin Spice Cool Whip!  And while I didn’t think it were possible, in that moment I do believe I came to love Cool Whip even more.

[print_this]Pumpkin Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Bars

Oatmeal and granola make for a chewy, soft chocolate chip bar perfect for a snack or breakfast.  

Makes 16 bars

Prep time: 5 minutes

Cook time: 25 minutes

  • Betty Crocker oatmeal chocolate chip cookie mix
  • 5 tablespoons butter or margarine, softened
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/4 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1/4 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/2 cup granola

Heat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Spray an 8- or 9-inch square pan with nonstick cooking spray.

In a large mixing bowl, stir the cookie mix, butter, egg, pumpkin, and pumpkin pie spice until mixed well.  Stir in the granola.

Spread the batter into the prepared pan.  Bake 20 to 25 minutes or until edges are golden brown and inserted toothpick comes out nearly clean.  Allow the bars to cool before cutting.[/print_this]

 

[print_this]Pumpkin Spice Cool Whip

Light, fluffy, and subtly spiced whipped topping– and really simple!

  • Cool Whip
  • Pumpkin butter
Mix 4 parts Cool Whip with 1 part pumpkin butter (for example, 1 cup cool whip with 1/4 cup pumpkin butter).  Cover and refrigerate until serving.[/print_this]
14 thoughts on “Pumpkin Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Bars & Pumpkin Spice Cool Whip”

      1. Especially the Chocolate cool whip…it’s like ice cream when it is frozen. Delish! My family loves cool whip…my mom and I think it could be a food group. And I have definitely eaten an entire container by myself (not my proudest moment…ha ha). I have eaten pumpkin butter and cool whip on graham crackers or ginger snaps but never mixed it all together. Cant wait to try it!

  1. YUM these look like the perfect way to pimp the Betty Crocker mixes ( i always buy her peanut butter/oatmeal/sugar cookie mixes!!) Pool running?! are you injured, or is that the way you cross train? I hope you had a great weekend! xoxo!

    1. I wouldn’t say I’m injured, it just takes me forever to recover from marathons, I’m learning! And I like to think aqua jogging keeps me in better running shape than other cross training. 🙂

Leave a Reply

