Maple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Happy Thanksgiving!  

I hope you are having (or had) a nice Thanksgiving filled with food, food, and more food.   And maybe a little trotting or football or something else active thrown in there.  Baking and cooking totally count, too — it’s hard to stand for hours on end!

I’m a big believer that if you work out on Thanksgiving, none of the calories count. 🙂  So I started the day with a spinning class and now, I’m heading to my first hot yoga class.  I’m not a yoga person at all, so this’ll be interesting.  But, I figure I’ll sweat off those three pieces of pie I’m obviously going to eat later.  It’s all about the pie… and the stuffing.

Today may be all about pie, but you do realize it’s Thursday, right?  So I mean, it would probably only be fair if I shared a few cookies with you.  Maybe you can crumble them on top of your pumpkin pie?  Or, I guess you could make them tomorrow, if you’re not fighting crowds at 54am with black friday cookies in hand.

I asked my sister last week what kind of chocolate chip cookies to make, and she told me maple, so… that’s what I made!  I swapped the usual sugar/brown sugar combo for maple syrup, which made for a really smooth, almost creamy cookie with just a hint of maple flavor.  Then, I upped the maple factor with a little maple glaze on top!

[print_this]Maple Chocolate Chip Cookies

 Soft, smooth chocolate chip cookies with a hint of maple flavor.  For extra maple flavor, add 1 to 2 teaspoons maple flavoring.

Makes 2 dozen

Prep time:

Cook time: 30 minutes

Cookies:

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/4 cup peanut butter
  • 2/3 cup maple syrup
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips
Maple Glaze:
  • 2 tablespoons maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup powdered sugar
Heat the oven to 375 degrees F.  Line two large cookie sheets with parchment paper.
In a large mixing bowl, beat the butter and peanut butter with an electric mixer on high until fluffy.  Add the maple syrup and egg, and beat on high until blended.
In a separate mixing bowl, stir the baking soda, salt and flour.  Gradually add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients, beating on medium until mixed well.  Stir in the chocolate chips.
Drop the cookie dough by heaping tablespoons onto the prepared cookie sheet.  Bake 12 to 15 minutes or until edges are light golden brown.  Allow the cookies to cool 2 minutes before transferring to wire racks to cool completely.
To prepare the glaze, stir the syrup and powdered sugar until smooth.  Brush the glazed over cooled cookies.  [/print_this]
7 thoughts on “Maple Chocolate Chip Cookies”

    1. Thanks, Nicole! I think that’s going to be my new thing – adding random flavors to regular old chocolate chip cookies to jazz them up 🙂

    1. Thank you 🙂 Maple is high on my list right now, too! If you make them, you should get some maple extract to really up the maple flavor.

Leave a Reply

