Instant Peppermint Mocha

How was your holiday weekend?  Did you fight the crowds on Black Friday?  Shop local on Small Business Saturday?  Continue to eat way more food than you needed after Thursday’s feast?  … me too, me too…

This was actually the first year in a long time my mom and I didn’t wake up before the crack of dawn to stand in line at WalMart on Black Friday, and you know what?  I didn’t miss it.  Maybe because neither of us had a burning need for whatever the electronic steal of the year is, or maybe because I was in a pie-induced coma and couldn’t possibly wake up before 6am.

Alas, we ventured out mid-morning on Friday, and I decided I much prefer the casual method of Black Friday shopping.  No crazy crowds to fight and we still caught some decent sales.  Actually, I should be honest with you… the only sale I caught was a bag two three bags of holiday M&M’s.   I think I’m going to take my real holiday shopping to the Interwebs.

As long as I’m being forthcoming, Black Friday shopping was really just my excuse to get a Skinny Peppermint Mocha from Starbuck’s.  I’ve never ever been anything more than a coffee drinker, but I sort of became obsessed with the holiday espresso drink the day before the NYC marathon.  There was a Starbuck’s in my hotel and I needed something to sip while I borrowed their free Internet and did some last-minute marathon route studying.  And then I needed one after the marathon, and the day after the marathon…

I’ve quickly learned frilly coffee drinks are expensive.  And while I can afford them, I’d rather spend money on candy and butter and running shorts.  So I decided to make my own instant peppermint mocha!

Now, this recipe (if you can call it one) uses a Keurig machine, but if you have a different single-cup brewer, I’m that’ll work too.  And for those of you without a magical coffee machine, well, I’ll have to work on an old school version just for you.  Or we can just cross our fingers and toes that someone who loves you snagged a magical coffee machine for you on Black Friday?

[print_this]Instant Peppermint Mocha

Makes 1 drink

  • 1/8 – 1/4 teaspoon peppermint extract
  • Cafe Mocha K-Cup
  • Cool Whip or whipped cream

Place the peppermint extract in a mug, then brew the cafe mocha into the mug.  Top with Cool Whip or whipped cream.

Best served with cookies. 🙂[/print_this]

19 thoughts on “Instant Peppermint Mocha”

      1. They do sell it year round, but not the skinny version (no sugar free peppermint). Some stores will stock up on the sugar free peppermint at the end of the season and sell it longer. The store by us actually sold the skinny version until about May. Best to ask around.

  1. I make a packet of hot cocoa (I use a homemade mix) with hot coffee instead of water, and toss in a peppermint! (I like the melt in your mouth ones, they dissolve almost instantly in the coffee, rather than the hard candy kind.) I am a little envious of your fancy Keurig machine, by the way!

Leave a Reply

