Chocolate Mint M&M Cookies

Fancy seeing you here on a Friday. 😉  But I’ve got 17 days of cookies to deal with, so here we are. 🙂

Since I’ve already got your attention, and it’s Friday (which means I can’t focus), wanna read some funny things?  Every once in awhile I read through my blog’s search terms for a good laugh, and this week we’ve got some good ones…

  • healthy whoopie pie <– no such thing
  • what can I make with cool whip and m&ms   <– just grab a spoon
  • number one cookies <– gee, thanks 😉
  • 1st of december yayyy dont you feel christmas comming  <– buddy the elf, is that you?
  • can you turn betty crocker into a cookie bar?  <– sort of like how violet turns into a blueberry in willy wonka?

Another fun recipe-related game – go to Cooks.com, scroll down and look for “Recent Searches” on the left-hand side.  They’re updated every few minutes, there’s always at least five odd searches, and there’s sure to be one or two that make you laugh.  I still can’t believe someone searched for “bologna sandwich.”  Really?!

See, this is why I don’t normally blog on Friday’s — my mind is nowhere to be found.  Lucky for you, I typed up this chocolate mint m&m cookie recipe before my brain ran away. 🙂

In keeping with my 17 days of cookies, this recipe uses a basic sugar cookie dough as its base, replacing vanilla extract with peppermint extract,  and reducing the amount of flour to add unsweetened cocoa.  Rolled in sugar and adorned with festive mint M&M’s, this cookie screams Christmas. 🙂

[print_this]Chocolate Mint M&M Cookies

Soft chocolate peppermint cookies with mint-flavored holiday M&M’s.  For a deeper chocolate flavor, use dark cocoa.

Makes 3 dozen

Prep time: 15 minutes

Cook time: 10 minutes per cookie sheet (~3 cookie sheets)

  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons peppermint extract
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa
  • Mint M&Ms

Heat the oven to 400 degrees F.  Set the sugar into a shallow dish; set aside.

In a large mixing bowl, beat the butter and sugar with an electric mixer on high speed until fluffy.  Add the eggs and peppermint and beat until mixed.  In the same bowl, add the baking powder and salt and beat until mixed.  Gradually add the flour and cocoa, beating on medium speed until mixed well.

Roll the dough into 1 1/2 inch balls, then roll each ball in the sugar mixture to coat completely.  Place the cookies two inches apart on ungreased cookie sheets and press lightly to flatten.  Press 3 M&M’s into each cookie.

Bake 8-10 minutes.  Allow to cool 2 minutes before removing from cookie sheets and setting onto wire racks to cool completely.[/print_this]

25 thoughts on “Chocolate Mint M&M Cookies”

  1. things i wish today:

    you and i were able to bake these cookies together in the same kitchen.

    missing you!! [and i must admit, yet AGAIN, that I LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVE this idea.]

    1. Ohhh, I wish we were making cookies in a kitchen together, too! Virtual bakefest, how ’bout that?

      I miss you too! I ran a 5k this AM and was wishing it was followed up by a tasty brunch in your apartment.

    1. I did see the cinnamon M&M’s! And I actually made some cookies with those, too. 🙂 I’m not sure if my bag was just a dud, but I didn’t really taste much cinnamon. Stick with the mint 🙂

  2. Ahhh…emergency question! I see that this recipe was from last year, but I just discovered mint m&ms…and your fun-looking recipe, this week! I was having a major snack-attack, and really wanted to make these tonight, however…

    I see that you have listed 1/4 c sugar, and then 1 1/2 c sugar…which goes IN the cookies, and which is for rolling? I THINK I know, but if I guess wrong, I will be sad! Please let me know. Until then, I will sit here and eat these m&ms. One. By. One. 🙂

      1. MARVELOUS! And a gold star for getting back to me while there were still m&ms in the bag! I’m in Nebraska, so I appreciate you checking in so late this evening (FL, right?)! I’ll report back. My husband wanted to know why I was getting the mixer out at 10pm. I showed him the picture. He’s never offered to help bake before!!!

  3. Made these today using unsweetened Ghiradelli cocoa… put in a bit extra, but I think I need to find even darker cocoa. They are lovely cookies and so far my two taste testers have given them the big thumbs up. Thanks!

    1. I often bake with the Hersheys ‘special dark’ because I love the deep chocolate flavor… glad you are enjoying the cookies!

      1. Today I made them with the super dark Hershey’s… wow. I wouldn’t have bought that cocoa before because my friends are mostly anti-Hershey (many of us cried when they acquired Scharffen Berger), but I’m surprised at how good it is. Thanks for the tip!

  4. Hi I found this recipe last week because I wanted something to do with my newly puechased peppermint extract and I made them for my daughters PK teacher and were soooo yummy and christmasy! Also super easy to make! Today I am making more for my husbands clients. Thank for an awsome recipe! One question if I wanted to make them with out the peppermint say forvalentines or easter would you add vanilla or any other extract or would the be good with out any type of extract. Thanks and Happy Holidays

    1. Hi Maria, I am so glad to hear you love the cookie recipe! This is one of my holiday favorites, for sure. As for alternative flavorings, I’d substitute with vanilla extract, or even almond extract for a different flavor. Happy Holidays!

  5. I really want to make this for my family:)… But they’re not fans of super dark chocolate. Does the amount of cocoa in this recipe make it super dark-chocolatey? Thanks:)

Leave a Reply

