Cinnamon M&M Snickerdoodles

TGIF!  No work for me today – I’m off to NYC for the weekend (!) so I can really say TGIF with extra enthusiasm. 🙂

Any fun weekend plans?  Holiday baking, perhaps?  Surprisingly, there’ll be no cookie baking for me this weekend… instead, I’ll just be eating my weight in pizza, cupcakes, bagels, and peppermint mocha’s while walking the holiday-ified streets of NYC with my best friends.  And hopefully a Central Park run sprinkled in somewhere.  I suppose that’s a good consolation to cookie baking. 😉

Have you guys gotten your hands on these limited edition Cinnamon M&M’s yet?  I guess you can only find them at Target.  I excitedly grabbed two bags when I saw them a few weeks ago on Black Friday.  Cinnamon and chocolate?  You don’t have to ask me twice.

Honestly, I was a little disappointed in these.  Maybe it’s because I’m very partial to my beloved pretzel M&M’s, but the cinnamon flavor wasn’t as strong as I’d hoped it’d be.  My sister and I agreed that if someone gave you a handful of them, you might just think they’re regular (but slightly larger) M&M’s.  I wasn’t sure if I was the only one, but then I read this review and realized that other people felt the same way!  Weird.

I wasn’t going to let a slightly disappointing flavor ruin my intentions though… I had cinnamon M&M snickerdoodles to make!

Want to know a secret?  These cookies actually came before I randomly decided to make 17 holiday cookies in a row.  Before I even had my base sugar cookie dough!  They are the true base cookie in this adventure of mine. 🙂  

No holiday cookie tray is complete without a few snickerdoodles in my opinion, and this recipe is a great one!  Soft, buttery and chewy cookies with just the right amount of spice.  Oh, and cinnamon-ish flavored chocolate never hurts. 😉

[print_this]Cinnamon M&M Snickerdoodles

Soft, chewy and subtly spiced snickerdoodle cookies topped with M&M candies.

Makes 3 dozen

Prep time: 15 minutes

Cook time: 30 minutes

  • 2 tablespoons granulated sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1 cup browned butter, softened (instructions here) or regular unsalted butter
  • 1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • Cinnamon M&Ms (or regular M&Ms)

Heat the oven to 400 degrees F.

In a shallow bowl, stir the sugar, cinnamon and ginger until mixed well.  Set aside.

In a large mixing bowl, beat the butter and sugar with an electric mixer on high speed until fluffy.  Add the eggs and vanilla and beat until mixed.  In the same bowl, add the baking powder and salt and beat until mixed.  Add the flour, 1/2 cup at at time, and beat on medium speed until mixed well.  Roll the balls in the sugar-spice mixture to coat completely, then set on cookie sheets 2 inches apart.

Bake 10 to 12 minutes or the until edges are golden brown.  Immediately press 3 M&M candies into each cookie.  Allow to cool 5 minutes before removing from cookie sheets.[/print_this]

4 thoughts on “Cinnamon M&M Snickerdoodles”

  1. Oh man, I also crawled all over town looking for Cinnamon M&Ms, because cinnamon and chocolate are amazing together, found them at Target, and was like “Really? These are just M&Ms”

    Not that I didn’t eat them. I should have been as smart as you and made cookies.

Leave a Reply

