Chai Spice Oatmeal Crispies

Wanna know a secret?  Yeah?

On Sunday I told myself no more Cool Whip ’til Christmas Eve – five whole days without that magically sweet and fluffy deliciousness I cannot get enough of.  I caved last night, three days in.  I don’t care what Brandy says, almost does count.

Haha… that wasn’t the real secret I had to tell you.  But it sure does feel good to get that off my chest.  Whew!

The real secret: when I baked the first batch of these chai spice oatmeal crispies last weekend, I thought I had a dud on my hands.  I was planning for soft, fluffy oatmeal cookies, and instead I was staring at crispy, flat oatmeal cookies.  Flop!  But then I ate one, and my dad ate three, and we decided they were actually really good.  Crisp yet chewy, spicy and sweet.  Not at all what I expected, but so much tastier than I expected!

I think these cookies would be perfect for giving as a gift, since they’re so thin and stack up really well.  Or you could play Jenga with them.  Did you ever used to play?  Ugh, I used to get so nervous playing that game.  I’m nervous just thinking about it!  Just eat the cookies, don’t play dangerous games with them.

Ah, look!  One more reason to make these this holiday season… they’re holy cookies!  😉

[print_this]Chai Spice Oatmeal Crispies

Thin and crispy, chewy oatmeal cookies flavored with chai latte mix. 

Makes 3 dozen

Prep time: 20 minutes

Cook time: 10 minutes per cookie sheet (~3 cookie sheets)

  • 1 cup browned butter, softened (instructions here) or regular unsalted butter
  • 1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/3 cup chai latte mix
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups quick oats
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour

Heat the oven to 375 degrees F.  Line cookie sheets with parchment paper.

In a large mixing bowl, beat the butter and sugar with an electric mixer on high speed until fluffy.  Add the eggs and vanilla and beat until mixed.  In the same bowl, add the baking powder, salt, and chai latte mix and beat until mixed.  Gradually add the flour and oats, beating on medium speed until mixed well.

Drop the dough by rounded tablespoonful onto prepared cookie sheets, two inches apart.  Bake 10 minutes or until edges are light golden brown.  Allow to cool 2 minutes before removing from cookie sheets and setting onto wire racks to cool completely.[/print_this]

14 thoughts on “Chai Spice Oatmeal Crispies”

  1. I agree with both previous comments!
    I also love how all your cookie recipes this year have the same basic sugar cookie dough base. So easy! I need to make some of these asap! Time is running out for holiday baking and I haven’t done any.

    1. Ah, yes definitely use the base recipe and make a few kinds – it’s really easy to get a good variety of cookies without too much work.

  2. Normally I’m not a big fan of crisp cookies but there’s a restaurant near me that has these in a smaller form and they are addictive! Thanks for sharing your recipe, I’ve been looking for one for these cookies!

  3. Hi I can’t seem to find and chai latte mix and want to make these cookies anyway..can I replace the chai latte with more flour?

Leave a Reply

