Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies with Sea Salt

Awww, I can’t believe today is my last day of 17 days of cookies!  It feels like the last day of school – I’m more than ready for a little cookie break, but I’m going to miss this!  I have to admit, I sort of figured I was going to hate cookies by the end of this, but I actually don’t, and I sort of want to keep making a gazillion cookies.  Maybe I’ll just retire so I can do this all the time?  Yeah, I better go buy my lotto ticket.

I hope you weren’t expecting anything too over the top on this day before day before Christmas, because I kept things fairly simple… but delicious.  I mean, who doesn’t love a chocolate chip cookie?

Since it is the holidays and all, I kicked these chocolate chip cookies up a notch with dark chocolate chips, though you could certainly use milk or semisweet instead.  But what you have to make sure to do, if you make these, is to add the coarse sea salt and vanilla ice cream.  The ice cream makes for an extra soft and super vanilla-y cookie, especially if you use vanilla bean like I did.  And the sea salt brings out the flavor of the entire cookie – both the soft, buttery cookie, and the deep, dark chocolate.  These are definitely a nontraditional chocolate chip cookie worth trying!

[print_this]Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies with Sea Salt

Not your typical chocolate chip cookie!  These are topped with sea salt to bring out the flavor of these soft, buttery cookies packed with dark chocolate chips.  If desired, use half brown sugar instead of all granulated sugar.

Makes 3 dozen

Prep time: 30 minutes

Cook time: 10-12 minutes per cookie sheet

  • 1 cup browned butter, softened (instructions here) or regular unsalted butter
  • 1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup vanilla  bean ice cream, softened
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/4 cup dark chocolate chips
  • Coarse sea salt

Heat the oven to 375 degrees F.  Line cookie sheets with parchment paper.

In a large mixing bowl, beat the butter and sugar with an electric mixer on high speed until fluffy.  Add the eggs, vanilla, and ice cream and beat until mixed.  In the same bowl, add the baking powder and salt and beat until mixed.  Add the flour, 1/2 cup at at time, and beat on medium speed until mixed well.  Stir in the chocolate chips (I like to save 1/4 cup chocolate chips to stick on top of the cookies before they go in the oven).

Drop the dough by rounded tablespoonful onto prepared cookie sheets, about 2 inches apart.  Sprinkle sea salt over each cookie (this can be done before or after baking or, if you’re like me and love salt, before and after).  Top with additional chocolate chips if desired.  Bake 10-12 minutes or until edges are light golden brown.  Allow to cool 2 minutes before removing from cookie sheets and setting onto wire racks to cool completely.[/print_this]

3 thoughts on “Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies with Sea Salt”

Leave a Reply

